Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes

Coyotes at IIHF World Championship - May 7 Recap

by Dave Vest / Arizona Coyotes

EDITOR'S NOTE: Seven players who competed for the Coyotes during the 2014-15 NHL season are playing for their countries at the 2015 International Ice Hockey Federation's World Championship in Czech Republic. They are: Mark Arcobello (USA), Martin Erat (Czech Republic), Oliver Ekman-Larsson (Sweden), John Moore (USA), Connor Murphy (USA), Tobias Rieder (Germany), and Mike Smith (Canada).

FORMAT: The 16 teams are divided into two groups for the Preliminary Round.

The top-four ranked teams of each group advance to the quarter-finals that will be played cross-over. The first-place team in each preliminary-round group plays the fourth-place team of the other group, while the second-place team plays the third-place team of the other group. 1A-4B, 2A-3B, 1B-4A, 2B-3A. The winning teams advance to the semi-finals.

Semi-final pairings: Winner 1A-4B vs Winner 2B-3A, Winner 1B-4A vs Winner 2A-3B. Both semi-final games and the medal games will be played in Prague.

The winning teams of the semi-final games advance to the gold medal game while the semi-final losing teams play for bronze.

OFFICIAL SITE: Click here to visit


Photo by Getty Images.


Belarus 5, USA 2:

Competing for Team USA, defenseman Connor Murphy played 14:40 and was minus-2, defenseman John Moore played 10:54, took one shot on goal and was minus-1, and forward Mark Arcobello played 16:39, took four shots on goal and was minus-2.

Click here to READ RECAP

Sweden 4, Germany 3:

Defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson played a game-high 27:00 for Sweden. He notched an assist and three shots on goal, and he was plus-1. Ekman-Larsson leads all defensemen at this tournament with seven points (one goal, six assists) in five games. He also ranks tied for first among all players with six assists.

Click here to READ RECAP

View More