Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes

Coyotes at IIHF World Championship - May 12 Recap

by Dave Vest / Arizona Coyotes

EDITOR'S NOTE: Seven players who competed for the Coyotes during the 2014-15 NHL season are playing for their countries at the 2015 International Ice Hockey Federation's World Championship in Czech Republic. They are: Mark Arcobello (USA), Martin Erat (Czech Republic), Oliver Ekman-Larsson (Sweden), John Moore (USA), Connor Murphy (USA), Tobias Rieder (Germany), and Mike Smith (Canada).

FORMAT: The 16 teams are divided into two groups for the Preliminary Round.

The top-four ranked teams of each group advance to the quarter-finals that will be played cross-over. The first-place team in each preliminary-round group plays the fourth-place team of the other group, while the second-place team plays the third-place team of the other group. 1A-4B, 2A-3B, 1B-4A, 2B-3A. The winning teams advance to the semi-finals.

Semi-final pairings: Winner 1A-4B vs Winner 2B-3A, Winner 1B-4A vs Winner 2A-3B. Both semi-final games and the medal games will be played in Prague.

The winning teams of the semi-final games advance to the gold medal game while the semi-final losing teams play for bronze.

OFFICIAL SITE: Click here to visit



USA 5, Slovakia 4 (OT):

Competing for Team USA, defenseman Connor Murphy played 15:54 and took one shot on goal, defenseman John Moore played 13:11, and forward Mark Arcobello played 17:16 and took a team-high four shots on goal. Moore and Arcobello assisted on Team USA's first goal.

Team USA finished the preliminary round with a 5-1-0-1 record and qualified for the quarterfinals, which begin Thursday. The Americans will play Switzerland at 6 a.m. (AZ time).

Click here to READ RECAP

Canada 10, Austria 1:

Goalie Mike Smith stopped 14 of 15 shots for Team Canada, which finished the preliminary round with a 7-0-0-0 record and qualified for the quarterfinals, which begin Thursday. The Canadians will play Belarus at 7 a.m. (AZ time).

Click here to READ RECAP

Thursday (all times listed are AZ times)

USA vs. Switzerland, 6 a.m.
Canada vs. Belarus, 7 a.m.
Sweden vs. Russia, 10 a.m.
Finland vs. Czech Republic, 11 a.m.

View More