Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes

Coyotes at IIHF World Championship - May 1 Recap

by Staff Writer / Arizona Coyotes

EDITOR'S NOTE: Seven players who competed for the Coyotes during the 2014-15 NHL season are playing for their countries at the 2015 International Ice Hockey Federation's World Championship in Czech Republic. They are: Mark Arcobello (USA), Martin Erat (Czech Republic), Oliver Ekman-Larsson (Sweden), John Moore (USA), Connor Murphy (USA), Tobias Rieder (Germany) and Mike Smith (Canada).

FORMAT: The 16 teams are divided into two groups for the Preliminary Round.

The top-four ranked teams of each group advance to the quarter-finals that will be played cross-over. The first-place team in each preliminary-round group plays the fourth-place team of the other group, while the second-place team plays the third-place team of the other group. 1A-4B, 2A-3B, 1B-4A, 2B-3A. The winning teams advance to the semi-finals.

Semi-final pairings: Winner 1A-4B vs Winner 2B-3A, Winner 1B-4A vs Winner 2A-3B. Both semi-final games and the medal games will be played in Prague.

The winning teams of the semi-final games advance to the gold medal game while the semi-final losing teams play for bronze.

OFFICIAL SITE: Click here to visit



Mike Smith. Photo by Getty Images.

Canada 6, Latvia 1:

Goalie Mike Smith stopped 16 of 17 shots to lead Canada to a win in its first game of the tournament.

Click here to READ RECAP

USA 5, Finland 1:

For the USA, defenseman Connor Murphy played 17:04, took one shot on goal and was plus-1, defenseman John Moore played 16:22, and forward Mark Arcobello played 14:53, took one shot on goal and won 5 of 9 face-offs.

Click here to READ RECAP

Sweden 6, Czech Republic 5 (SO):

Defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson played 24:01, took a team-high six shots on goal and scored the game-winning goal for Sweden in the shootout. Forward Martin Erat played 20:28, took two shots on goal and was minus-1 for Czech Republic.
Click here to READ RECAP

View More