Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes


by Staff Writer / Arizona Coyotes

Saturday, April 11, 2009

. --- The Phoenix Coyotes have announced the winners of the club's 2008-09 team awards. Coyotes captain Shane Doan earned the team MVP Award, the Coyotes’ Leading Scorer Award, the Three-Star Award and the Beth Champie Memorial Award. Defenseman Zbynek Michalek received the Hardest Working Player Award and defenseman Kurt Sauer won the Man of the Year Award.

Doan leads all Coyotes players in goals, assists and points entering the final game of the season with 31-40-71 in 81 games to win the team's Leading Scorer Award. He also earned the most “Three Star” points throughout the season to earn the SRP Energy Three Star Award while being named the game’s First Star on eight different occasions this season. The Phoenix Coyotes Booster Club also honored Doan with the Beth Champie Memorial Award, which goes to the player who demonstrates the most dedication to the fans throughout the season. Finally, Doan was selected as the team MVP by the Coyotes traveling media (The Arizona Republic, and the Coyotes' television and radio broadcast teams).

Michalek received the Coyotes Hardest Working Player Award as he leads the entire NHL in blocked shots (270) this season and leads the Coyotes in total ice time. He also ranks 3rd among Coyotes defensemen in scoring with 6-20-26 while appearing in all 81 games entering tonight’s season finale.

Sauer earned the Man of the Year Award for his dedication, commitment and passion for bettering the lives of those in the community during his first season as a member of the Coyotes. Sauer was influential in having the entire Coyotes team participate in the Teammates for Kids program this season and made a special trip to the West Valley Child Crisis Center this holiday season to bring smiles to children. He has served as a role model to both his teammates and the community.

View More