Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Ovechkin Named to NHL First All-Star Team for Second Year

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals
Capital matches feat last accomplished 55 years ago

ARLINGTON, Va. – June 14, 2007 – Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin has been named to the 2006-07 NHL First All-Star Team, the league announced tonight at the NHL Awards Show in Toronto.
It is the second consecutive selection to the first team for Ovechkin, who becomes the first player since Detroit Red Wings goaltender Terry Sawchuk in 1950-51 and 1951-52 to earn first-team honors in each of his first two full seasons in the league. Ovechkin is the only Capitals forward ever to be named to one of the NHL’s postseason all-star teams.
Ovechkin led the Capitals in goals (46), assists (46) and points (92), finishing with the seventh-best single-season point total in club history. His goal total ranked tied for third in the NHL, while he finished 13th in points. Ovechkin led the league in shots with 392, 12% more than the next-closest player, and was tied for seventh in game-winning goals (8) and tied for ninth in power-play goals (16). Ovechkin made his first appearance in an NHL All-Star Game in 2006-07 and won the Kharlamov Trophy as the top Russian-born player in the league for the second straight year.
Ovechkin was joined on the First All-Star Team by forwards Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Dany Heatley of the Ottawa Senators, both of whom made their first career appearance on the first team. Goaltender Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils) and defensemen Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings) and Scott Niedermayer (Anaheim Ducks) were also named to the first team. Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.
G: Martin Brodeur, New Jersey
D: Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
D: Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks
LW: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
C: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
RW: Dany Heatley, Ottawa Senators
G: Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
D: Chris Pronger, Anaheim Ducks
D: Dan Boyle, Tampa Bay Lightning
LW: Thomas Vanek, Buffalo Sabres
C: Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning
RW: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
View More