Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Olie Kolzig Awarded King Clancy Memorial Trophy

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals

Vancouver, B.C. - June 22, 2006 - Washington Capitals goaltender Olie Kolzig was named the 2005-06 recipient of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for his leadership and humanitarian contributions to his community this evening at the NHL Awards Show in Vancouver.

“It’s always great getting recognized for what you do on the ice,” said Kolzig. “But ultimately you are remembered as a person as much as a player. That makes an honor like this that much more valued to me.”

The Vezina Trophy recipient in 2000, Kolzig has used his status as a professional athlete to give back to the community and help those in need. He created two new foundations to raise money for autism research, Athletes Against Autism (Triple A) and the Carson Kolzig Foundation in honor of his autistic son, Carson. Triple A is an initiative of the Cure Autism Now Foundation, the largest private funder of autism research in the country. Together with other professional athletes, members of Congress and local celebrities, Kolzig has helped raise awareness and funds for research of the disorder.

“It’s wonderful to see Olie recognized on an international level for his leadership, both on and off the ice,” said Capitals chairman and majority owner Ted Leonsis. “He has had a special impact on our organization ever since he joined it in 1989. We are blessed to have such a special person in our locker room, and personally I am thrilled that his positive influence extends beyond the rink.”

The recently formed Carson Kolzig Foundation Inc., formerly known as Hockey Shuts Out Autism Inc., focuses primarily on developmental, research, education and awareness programs for children with autism as well as other youth education and sports-related activities. This private foundation has been actively fund-raising to reach its goal of building an autism center in the Tri-Cities region of Washington state, Kolzig’s off-season home.

In 2000-01 Kolzig won the NHL Foundation Player Award due in large part to the work he had done with the Children’s National Medical Center. In the 14 seasons he has played for the Capitals, he has formed a special relationship with Children’s National Medical Center and has created two programs to specifically benefit the hospital: Olie’s All-Stars and Olie’s and Elliot’s Great Saves. Olie’s All-Stars gives patients from Children’s Hospital an opportunity to attend a Capitals game and the chance to ride the Olympia ice resurfacer. Kolzig also paired up with DC101’s Elliot in the Morning to create Olie’s and Elliot’s Great Saves program, donating money to the hospital based on Kolzig’s statistics during each season. He continues to visit patients and donate his time and funds to the Children’s Hospital.

In addition to his fund-raising work in the Washington, D.C. area, Kolzig has also contributed to the community in which he lives in Washington State. Along with friend Stu Barnes of the Dallas Stars, Kolzig has raised money for the Carson Kolzig Foundation, Kadlec Medical Center, the Boys & Girls Clubs of Benton and Fanklin counties, the Sexual Assault Response Center in the Tri-Cities and Benton/Franklin Children’s Developmental Center, among others.

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy was presented to the NHL by the Board of Governors in 1988 to honor the late Frank “King” Clancy. The award is given to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution to his community. Kolzig is the first Capital to earn the award.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy Winners

2005-06           Olie Kolzig                    Washington Capitals
2003-04           Jarome Iginla              Calgary Flames
2002-03           Brendan Shanahan    Detroit Red Wings
2001-02           Ron Francis                 Carolina Hurricanes
2000-01           Shjon Podein               Colorado Avalanche
1999-00           Curtis Joseph              Toronto Maple Leafs
1998-99           Rob Ray                        Buffalo Sabres
1997-98           Kelly Chase                 St. Louis Blues
1996-97           Trevor Linden              Vancouver Canucks
1995-96           Kris King                       Winnipeg Jets
1994-95           Joe Nieuwendyk         Calgary Flames
1993-94           Adam Graves               New York Rangers
1992-93           Dave Poulin                 Boston Bruins
1991-92           Ray Bourque               Boston Bruins
1990-91           Dave Taylor                 Los Angeles Kings
1989-90           Kevin Lowe                 Edmonton Oilers
1988-89           Bryan Trottier              New York Islanders
1987-88           Lanny McDonald         Calgary Flames


View More