Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Hershey's Keith Aucoin, Alexandre Giroux Named to AHL First All-Star Team

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals
ARLINGTON, Va. - The American Hockey League (AHL) announced today that center Keith Aucoin and left wing Alexandre Giroux have been named to the 2008-09 AHL First All-Star Team, as voted by AHL coaches, players and media in each of the league’s 29 member cities.

Aucoin, 30, a Waltham, Mass., native leads the AHL in points (94) and assists (69) in 69 games. He was selected as the CCM/AHL Player of the Month for October after picking up 18 points to lead the league in scoring. His October run also included an eight-game point scoring streak from Oct. 8-26, where he accumulated 17 points with five goals and 12 assists.  Aucoin joined the AHL’s 500-point club on Feb. 14 and is seeking his first AHL scoring title after three top-10 finishes. He was also named to the AHL’s All-Star game representing PlanetUSA AHL All-Stars, his fourth All-Star appearance.
This is Aucoin’s first First Team All-Star nomination after being named a Second Team All-Star in 2006 and 2007.
Giroux, 27, a Quebec City, Quebec, native was named to his first First Team All-Star roster as well. He is second to Aucoin in AHL scoring with 91 points (55g-36a) in 64 games. His 55 goals mark the highest single-season total in Hershey’s 71-year history and represent a career high. He registered a 23-point scoring streak from Nov. 15 to Jan. 30, which included his league-record 15-game goal-scoring streak. He was named the CCM/AHL Player of the Month for January after he scored 18 goals and nine assists in 15 games. Giroux was also named to his second All-Star Game as a member of the Canadian AHL All-Stars team, where he registered a goal.
Aucoin and Giroux are joined on the First Team roster by Manitoba Moose goaltender Cory Schneider, Providence Bruins defenseman Johnny Boychuk, Philadelphia Phantoms defenseman Danny Syvret and Hartford Wolf Pack right wing Pierre-Alexandre Parenteau. The Second All-Star Team is made up of Milwaukee Admirals goaltender Drew MacIntyre and defenseman Cody Franson, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins defenseman Ben Lovejoy and left wing Janne Pesonen, Manitoba Moose center Jason Krog and Grand Rapids Griffins right wing Darren Haydar.
View More