Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Capitals Media Relation Staff Wins Third Straight Dick Dillman Award

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals
ARLINGTON, Va. – The Washington Capitals media relations staff is the 2008-09 recipient of the Dick Dillman Award for the NHL’s Eastern Conference, given annually to the team judged to be the best in media relations by the members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The PHWA made the announcement this evening in Montreal, in conjunction with the 2009 NHL Entry Draft.

It is the third straight Dick Dillman Award for the Capitals. The San Jose Sharks won the award for the Western Conference.
“This is a special honor and something in which we take a great deal of pride,” said director of media relations Nate Ewell. “It is a pleasure to work with the membership of the PHWA and the rest of the media every day. Their coverage is instrumental to the success of this great game, and we are happy to do whatever we can to help make that possible. We owe thanks to the leadership of our owners, George McPhee and Bruce Boudreau, as well as charismatic and cooperative players like Alex Ovechkin, Mike Green and Brooks Laich, just to name three.”
The Dillman Award honors the late Dick Dillman, a highly respected media relations guru for the Minnesota North Stars. Members of the PHWA are eligible to vote on the award, and voters are asked to consider multiple factors, including fairness, cooperation, efficiency, accuracy and presentation of media notes, quality of media guide and willingness to help facilitate interviews.
The Capitals’ media relations staff, overseen by vice president of communications Kurt Kehl, includes Nate Ewell, Paul Rovnak, Kelly Murray and Rachel Buck, as well as a number of game-night staffers.
View More