Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Capitals Media Relation Staff Wins Second Straight Dick Dillman Award

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals
ARLINGTON, Va. – The Washington Capitals media relations staff is the 2007-08 recipient of the Dick Dillman Award for the NHL’s Eastern Conference, given annually to the team judged to be the best in media relations by the members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The PHWA made the announcement this evening in Ottawa, in conjunction with the 2008 NHL Entry Draft.

It is the second straight Dick Dillman Award for the Capitals. The San Jose Sharks won the award for the Western Conference.
“It is a great honor for us to be recognized by the PHWA,” said director of media relations Nate Ewell. “It is a pleasure to work with their membership and the rest of the media every day. We are blessed with tremendous leadership from our owners, general manager George McPhee and head coach Bruce Boudreau. The players on the Washington Capitals are a special group and deserve a lot of the credit for this award as well.”
The Dillman Award honors the late Dick Dillman, a highly respected media relations guru for the Minnesota North Stars. Members of the PHWA are eligible to vote on the award, and voters are asked to consider multiple factors, including fairness, cooperation, efficiency, accuracy and presentation of media notes, quality of media guide and willingness to help facilitate interviews.
The Capitals’ media relations staff, overseen by vice president of communications Kurt Kehl, includes Nate Ewell and Paul Rovnak.
View More