Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Capitals Media Relation Staff Wins Dick Dillman Award

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals

Professional Hockey Writers’ Association honors club as best in Eastern Conference

ARLINGTON, Va. – The Washington Capitals media relations staff is the 2006-07 recipient of the Dick Dillman Award for the NHL’s Eastern Conference, given annually to the team judged to be the best in media relations by the members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The PHWA made the announcement this weekend in Columbus, Ohio, in conjunction with the 2007 NHL Entry Draft.
For the first time this year, the PHWA presented separate Dillman awards for the Eastern and Western conferences, with the San Jose Sharks earning the honor in the West.
The Dillman Award honors the late Dick Dillman, a highly respected media relations guru for the Minnesota North Stars. All members of the PHWA are eligible to vote on the award, and voters are asked to consider multiple factors, including fairness, cooperation, efficiency, accuracy and presentation of media notes, quality of media guide and willingness to help facilitate interviews.
The Capitals’ media relations staff, overseen by vice president of communications Kurt Kehl, includes Nate Ewell, Paul Rovnak and Julie Petri.
View More