Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Boudreau Leads Team B to Victory in Inaugural Gaetan Duchesne Cup

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals
ARLINGTON, Va. – The inaugural Gaetan Duchesne Cup fostered the competition coach Bruce Boudreau was hoping for, as Team B rallied for a 3-2 shootout victory over Team A. Sergei Fedorov scored the shootout winner at Kettler Capitals Iceplex, and Team B finished the event with a 2-0-0 record.

The entertaining game was dominated by the outstanding goaltending of Jose Theodore and Simeon Varlamov through most of the first period. Right wing Jay Beagle scored Team A’s first goal with six minutes remaining in the period beating Theodore glove side. Alex Ovechkin added another tally to the board for Team A, scoring on a shorthanded breakaway with one minute remaining in the first period, putting Team A up 2-0.
After a scoreless second period, Team B demonstrated the hard work, no quit attitude of the cup’s namesake as they made their comeback. Boyd Gordon set the scoring in motion for Team B, tapping in a rebound off goalie Michal Neuvirth. Seconds later Alexandre Giroux scored the tying goal to send the game into a shootout.
Team B once again fell behind, as Eric Fehr and Alexander Semin missed their attempts, but completed their comeback victory with three straight goals by Gordon, Brooks Laich and Fedorov. Team A had shootout goals from Ovechkin and Matt Bradley, but was felled by misses from Viktor Kozlov, Keith Aucoin and Chris Bourque.
Assistant coach Jay Leach presented Fedorov with the Gaetan Duchesne Cup at the conclusion of the game. Fedorov then shared the trophy with his team and posed for pictures at center ice.
The Gaetan Duchesne Cup was created by Boudreau during the Caps 2008 training camp to foster competition and honor former Capitals player Gaetan Duchesne. Duchesne was an eighth round draft pick who made the team and went on to play for the Caps from 1982-87.  During his career he scored 87 goals and had 225 points in 451 games. He passed away in April of 2007 at the age of 44.    
View More