Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks announce Team Awards

...Alex Edler named as first recipient of the Daniel & Henrik Sedin Award

by Canucks Communications @Canucks / Vancouver Canucks

Vancouver, B.C. - With the regular season officially completed and the NHL's postseason just around the corner, the Vancouver Canucks announced their annual player awards today for the 2019.20 season. Canucks fans voted on the majority of the awards from June 25 to July 2. 

Jacob Markstrom earned the Cyclone Taylor Trophy as the Canucks MVP, as voted by the fans. This past season he was named to the NHL All-Star Game while posting a 23-17-4 record and 2.75 GAA. His efforts also earned him the Canucks Three Stars Award. 
Alex Edler is the first ever recipient of the new Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award for community leadership. Over the course of his career, Edler has made significant contributions to the community. Some highlights include: 

  • Hosting the "Eagles Nest" program over the course of the last four seasons where he provides four tickets and a post-game meet and greet following each home game to deserving kids and their families.  

  • Has served as the Canucks "Hockey is for Everyone" ambassador for the past two seasons.  

  • Has been a generous supporter of the Canucks for Kids Fund and Canucks community events for kids and grassroots hockey. 

  • His family quietly supports other charities in the community. 

JT Miller led Canucks in scoring with 72 points (27-45-72) in 69 games played, earning the Cyrus H. McLean Trophy. Canucks fans also voted him as the team's "Unsung Hero" for the Fred J. Hume Award.

To round out fan voting, Elias Pettersson won the Pavel Bure Award as the Canucks "Most Exciting Player" while Quinn Hughes was named as the "Best Defenceman," winning the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy. 

Summary of 2019.20 Vancouver Canucks Awards: 

  • Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy - "Best Defenceman" (fan vote): Quinn Hughes 

Tweet from @Canucks: Congrats to Quinn Hughes, the rookie who plays like a veteran, on being named the #Canucks Best Defenceman! 🏆

  • Daniel & Henrik Sedin Award - "Community Leadership": Alex Edler 

Tweet from @Canucks: Alex Edler is the first ever recipient of the #Canucks new Daniel & Henrik Sedin Award for Community Leadership! 🦅🏆

  • Fred J. Hume Award - "Unsung Hero" (fan vote): JT Miller 

  • Cyrus H. McLean Trophy - "Leading Scorer": JT Miller 

Tweet from @Canucks: 🔥 DOUBLE AWARD WINNER ALERT 🔥 J.T. Miller has been voted the #Canucks Unsung Hero! 🏆

  • Pavel Bure Award - "Most Exciting Player" (fan vote): Elias Pettersson 

Tweet from @Canucks: Exciting is his middle name (probably). Give it up for @_EPettersson, the #Canucks Most Exciting Player! 🏆

  • Cyclone Taylor Trophy - "Most Valuable Player" (fan vote): Jacob Markstrom 

View More