Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Team Canada unveils Olympic camp roster

by Dan Rosen / Vancouver Canucks
Let debates begin!

Hockey Canada has released its first list of potential candidates for the Canadian entry into one of the biggest hockey tournament in the country's history, the 2010 Olympic Games in Vancouver.

This list will be picked apart and analyzed more than anything the Canadian parliament has done all year.

Forty-six players representing 24 NHL teams have been invited to attend Canada's National Men's Team orientation camp, which runs from Aug. 24-27 in Calgary. Five goaltenders, 16 defensemen and 25 forwards made the cut.

Forty of the invitees have played on Canada's National Team at past events ranging from the Olympics, IIHF World Championship and the World Cup of Hockey/Canada Cup. Thirty-six of the invitees played for either the National Junior Team or the National Men's Under-18 Team.

The list of 46 will have to be cut to 23 by the end of December, when the final Olympic rosters have to be submitted. There may be a player or two not invited to this camp that winds up making the team, but these 46 players have been identified as the candidates:


Martin Brodeur, New Jersey; Marc-Andre Fleury, Pittsburgh; Roberto Luongo, Vancouver; Steve Mason, Columbus; Cam Ward, Carolina


Francois Beauchemin, UFA; Jay Bouwmeester, Calgary; Dan Boyle, San Jose; Brent Burns, Minnesota; Drew Doughty, Los Angeles; Mike Green, Washington; Dan Hamhuis, Nashville; Duncan Keith, Chicago; Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim; Dion Phaneuf, Calgary; Chris Pronger, Philadelphia; Robyn Regehr, Calgary; Stephane Robidas, Dallas; Brent Seabrook, Chicago; Marc Staal, New York Rangers; Shea Weber, Nashville


Jeff Carter, Philadelphia; Dan Cleary, Detroit; Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh; Shane Doan, Phoenix; Simon Gagne, Philadelphia; Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim; Dany Heatley, Ottawa; Jarome Iginla, Calgary; Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay; Milan Lucic, Boston; Patrick Marleau, San Jose; Andy McDonald, St. Louis; Brenden Morrow, Dallas; Rick Nash, Columbus; Corey Perry, Anaheim; Mike Richards, Philadelphia; Derek Roy, Buffalo; Joe Sakic, Colorado; Patrick Sharp, Chicago; Ryan Smyth, Colorado; Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay; Eric Staal, Carolina; Jordan Staal, Pittsburgh; Joe Thornton, San Jose; Jonathan Toews, Chicago
View More