Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Roberto Luongo Wins Canucks MVP Award

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks
Vancouver, B.C. - The Vancouver Canucks announced today the winners of their annual player awards for the 2006-07 season.

Roberto Luongo, in his first season with the Vancouver Canucks, captured the Cyclone Taylor Award as the Canucks MVP, as selected by the fans, for the first time in his career. In the process he has established new franchise records for wins by a goaltender in a single season (46) and games played by a goaltender (48). In addition to being named season MVP, Luongo also collected the Molson Cup Trophy (voted by the media) for most three-star selections with 125 points and the Canucks' Most Exciting Player award as voted on by the fans.

Daniel Sedin leads all Canucks in scoring with 83 points (36-47-83) through 79 games and collects his first ever Cyrus McLean Award. In his sixth season with the Canucks, Daniel has set career highs in goals (36) and points (83). He netted his 100th career goal on January 13, 2007 and also appeared in his 400th career NHL game earlier this season on October 8, 2006 in Colorado.

Kevin Bieksa in the recipient of two year end awards, the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy (voted by the fans) for being the Most Outstanding Defenceman for the first time in his career and the Fred J. Hume Award for being the "Unsung Hero" as chosen by the Canucks Booster Club. In his first full season with the Canucks, Bieksa leads all Canucks defencemen in points (40) and is second behind only Sami Salo with 11 goals. He is also the only Canucks defenceman to play in all 79 games thus far this season. Bieksa scored his first NHL goal on October 13, 2006 against the San Jose Sharks and appeared in his 100th career NHL game on February 22, 2007 in Los Angeles.

Canucks Player Awards
View More