Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Henrik Sedin wins Canucks MVP award

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

VANCOUVER, B.C., — The Vancouver Canucks announced today the winners of their annual player awards for the 2011.12 season. Henrik Sedin earned the Cyclone Taylor Trophy as the Canucks MVP, as selected by the fans, for the second time in his career. Henrik led the Canucks in scoring through the first 81 games with 80 points (13-67-80) and as a result also won his fourth Cyrus H. McLean Trophy as the team’s highest scorer.

Roberto Luongo is the recipient of the Mike’s Three Star Award as the player with the most Three Stars nominations throughout the season as chosen by broadcasters. Luongo moved into first place this season in franchise history for the most wins (223) and finished the year with 30 wins to reach the mark for the seventh consecutive year.

David Booth is the recipient of the Most Exciting Player award as voted by fans this season. In his first season with the Canucks, it is the first time Booth has been named the team’s Most Exciting Player. This season Booth compiled 28 points (15-13-28) in 55 games played.

Alex Edler is the recipient of the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy (voted by the fans) for being the Most Outstanding Defenceman for the first time in his career. Edler made his first All-Star Game appearance and is having a career year in goals (11), assists (38) and points (49). Edler entered the final game of the 2011.12 season tied for sixth in League scoring among defencemen.

Chris Higgins is the recipient of the Fred J. Hume Award for being the Canucks “Unsung Hero” as selected by the fans. This is Higgins’ first team award. In his second season with the Canucks, Higgins ranked first on the team in takeaways (49) and tied for sixth in scoring with 43 points (18-25-43) in 70 games played.

Summary of 2011.12 Vancouver Canucks Awards:

  • Cyclone Taylor - "Most Valuable Player": Henrik Sedin
  • Walter (Babe) Pratt - "Best Defenceman": Alex Edler
  • Most Exciting Player: David Booth
  • Fred J. Hume - "Unsung Hero ": Chris Higgins
  • Mike’s Three Star Award: Roberto Luongo “Most Mike’s Three Stars Selections”
  • Cyrus H. McLean - "Leading Scorer ": Henrik Sedin
View More