Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Henrik Sedin and Daniel Sedin named to NHL's first and second all-star teams

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Vancouver, B.C. – The National Hockey League announced its 2009-10 All-Stars at the 2010 NHL Awards, with two of the players being from the Vancouver Canucks. Henrik Sedin was named to the First All-Star Team while brother Daniel was named to the Second All-Star Team.

Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin, who becomes the first player in National Hockey League history voted a First Team All-Star in each of his first five seasons, highlights the players named to the League's First and Second All-Star Teams for 2009-10.

Ovechkin surpassed the mark of Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame goaltender Bill Durnan, named in his first four seasons from 1943-44 through 1946-47. Joining Ovechkin on the First Team is Capitals teammate Mike Green, who earned his second consecutive berth on defense.

Each of the remaining First Team players is a first-time selection, including two Chicago Blackhawks -- defenseman Duncan Keith and right wing Patrick Kane. The last time the Blackhawks boasted as many was in 1992-93 (goaltender Ed Belfour, defenseman Chris Chelios). Other First Team honorees are goaltender Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres and center Henrik Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks.

Among those named to the Second Team is Canucks left wing Daniel Sedin, marking the first time in 36 years that brothers had earned berths on post-season All-Star Teams in the same year. In 1973-74, Boston center Phil Esposito earned First Team honors and Chicago goaltender Tony Esposito was voted to the Second Team.

Joining Daniel Sedin on the Second Team: goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov of the Phoenix Coyotes, defensemen Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings, center Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and right wing Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

2009-2010 NHL First All-Star Team

G Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres
D Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks
D Mike Green, Washington Capitals
C Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
RW Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
LW Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

2009-2010 NHL Second All-Star Team

G Ilya Bryzgalov, Phoenix Coyotes
D Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
D Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
C Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
RW Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
LW Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

View More