Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks Report - Kesler, Luongo represent in Vegas

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks


Hockey players, coaches, staff and the like gather in Las Vegas this week for the NHL's annual awards event taking place Thursday, June 18.

The show can be seen on Versus in the U.S. starting at 4:30 pm PT, and at 5:30pm PT on CBC. Fans also have the opportunity to watch the red carpet arrivals of guests beginning at 3:15pm PT on

In late April, Ryan Kesler received the nomination for the Selke Award, which recognizes the best defensive forward. The award is named after former Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs executive Frank Selke Jr.

Kesler produced career numbers in every area in the 08-09 season with 26 goals and 33 assists for59 points and a solidplus-8 rating in 82 games. In just his second 82-game season, he more than doubled his point production from 2005-06.

Beginning the season on a line with Alex Burrows, they formed an effective checking duo that often frustrated opponents and kept them off the scoresheet and played a significant role in the Canucks success on both ends of the ice.

Kesler finished the year on a line with Mats Sundin and Pavol Demitra but didn't stray far from his checking ways, continuing to play a strong defensive game while making more contributions on offense.

Canuck captain, Roberto Luongo is also attending the annual festivities as a finalist in the Scotiabank/NHL Fan Fav™ Award.

Over a million votes were cast in the year long program, with NHL fans selecting their choice for the best overall regular season performer.

Throughout the season, NHL fans had the opportunity to vote for the player who demonstrated the best skills and strongest overall performance during that week. All of the weekly Scotiabank/NHL Fan Fav Award nominees from the regular season were evaluated by a panel of NHL experts to narrow the list.

The 10 finalists eligible for the Scotiabank/NHL Fan Fav™ Award were: Calgary Flames' forward Jarome Iginla and goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff, Carolina Hurricanes' center Eric Staal, Columbus Blue Jackets' goaltender Steve Mason, New Jersey Devils' goaltender Martin Brodeur, Pittsburgh Penguins' center Sidney Crosby, San Jose Sharks' goaltender Evgeni Nabokov, Vancouver Canucks' goaltender Roberto Luongo and Washington Capitals' defenseman Mike Green and forward Alex Ovechkin.
View More