Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks Nominated For Four NHL Awards

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Robert Loungo nominated for the VEZINA, HART & LESTER B. PEARSON AWARDS, coach Alain Vigneault nominated for the JACK ADAMS AWARD

Vancouver, B.C. - The Vancouver Canucks, in conjunction with the National Hockey League, announced today that goaltender Roberto Luongo has been nominated for the Vezina Trophy, awarded "to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position," the Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team" and the Lester B. Pearson Award, "presented annually to the most outstanding player' in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA."

Vancouver Canucks Head Coach Alain Vigneault, has also been nominated for the Jack Adams Award, presented to "the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success."

Roberto Luongo, who captured Canucks MVP honours and the Molson Cup Trophy, shattered several Vancouver Canucks franchise records in his inaugural season with the team. Acquired in the off-season alongside Lukas Krajicek and a sixth-round draft pick from the Florida Panthers in exchange for Bryan Allen, Alex Auld, and Todd Bertuzzi, Luongo established new franchise records for wins by a goaltender in a single season (47) and games played (76), compiling a record of 47-22-6, posting a 2.29 GAA and a save percentage of .921. His 47 wins this season were second only to New Jersey's Martin Brodeur (48) and are tied for second-place all-time with Bernie Parent for most wins by a goaltender in a single season. Luongo is only the second goaltender in Canucks history to finish as a finalist for the Vezina Trophy, joining Kirk McLean who finished third in 1989 and second in 1992.

This is the second time Luongo has been nominated for the Vezina Trophy. As a member of the Florida Panthers, Luongo finished third in Vezina voting in 2004 behind Calgary's Miikka Kiprusoff and the eventual winner, New Jersey's Martin Brodeur. Luongo is also the first Canucks goaltender to be nominated for the Hart Memorial Trophy and only the second Canuck all-time, behind Markus Naslund in 2003, to be a finalist for the award. Luongo is a finalist for the Lester B. Pearson Award for the second time in his career after receiving his first nomination following the 2003-04 season.

In just his first season as head coach of the Vancouver Canucks, Alain Vigneault led the team to their most impressive regular season to date. Compiling a record of 49-26-7, Vigneault helped the team set a new franchise record in wins (49) and points (105), while capturing the Northwest Division Championship and securing a playoff berth for the Canucks for the first time since the 2003-04 season.

This is the second time in his career that Alain Vigneault has been nominated for the Jack Adams Award. As the head coach of the Montreal Canadiens, Vigneault finished runner-up in the Jack Adams Award voting to St. Louis Blues' coach Joel Quenneville. Vigneault becomes just the third head coach in Canucks history to be nominated for the Jack Adams Award. Bob McCammon finished runner-up to Montreal's Pat Burns in 1989, while Pat Quinn won the Jack Adams Award in 1992.

The Vezina Trophy winner and the Hart Memorial Trophy winner are selected in a poll by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in the 30 NHL cities at the end of the regular season. The Lester B. Pearson Award is voted annually by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association. The Jack Adams Award winner is selected by a poll among members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association at the end of the regular season. Winners will be announced Thursday, June 14 at the 2007 NHL Awards Television Special in Toronto.


2004 Plus-Minus Award Marek Malik
2003 Lester B. Pearson Award Markus Naslund
1997 King Clancy Award Trevor Linden
1992 Jack Adams Award Pat Quinn
1992 Calder Trophy Pavel Bure
1992 NHL Man-of-the-Year Award Ryan Walter
View More