Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks Luongo, Schneider Win Jennings Trophy

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Las Vegas - Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider of the Vancouver Canucks captured the William M. Jennings Trophy, presented "to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it."

Luongo captured his first Jennings Trophy as the Canucks allowed the fewest goals in the NHL (185) for the first time in franchise history. The 32-year-old Montreal native went 38-15-7 in 60 appearances, posting the best goals-against average in his 11-year NHL career (2.11) and his top save percentage since joining the Canucks in 2006-07 (.928). He tied for the League lead in victories, ranked second in goals-against average and fourth in save percentage. Among his season highlights was a streak of 21 decisions without a loss, going 16-0-5 from Dec. 8 through Feb. 12.

Schneider excelled in relief of Luongo in his first full NHL season after a three-year apprenticeship with Manitoba of the American Hockey League. The Canucks' first pick (24th overall) in the 2004 Entry Draft posted a 16-4-2 record in 25 appearances, highlighted by a franchise record-tying 10-game undefeated streak (8-0-2) in his first 10 decisions of the season. He ranked third among NHL goaltenders in save percentage (.929) and was fourth in goals-against average (2.23).

William M. Jennings Trophy Winners Since 1981-82 Year Winner Runner-up 2010 Martin Brodeur, N.J. Tim Thomas and Tuukka Rask, Bos.
2009 Tim Thomas and Niklas Backstrom, Min. Manny Fernandez, Bos.
2008 Chris Osgood and J.S. Giguere, Ana. Dominik Hasek, Det.
2007 Niklas Backstrom and Marty Turco, Dal. Manny Fernandez, Min.
2006 Miikka Kiprusoff, Cgy. Manny Legace and Chris Osgood, Det.
2004 Martin Brodeur, N.J. Marty Turco, Dal.
2003 Martin Brodeur, N.J., Marty Turco and Roman Cechmanek Ron Tugnutt, Dal. and Robert Esche, Phi.
2002 Patrick Roy, Col. Tommy Salo, Edm. Dominik Hasek, Det. Martin Brodeur, N.J.
2001 Dominik Hasek, Buf. Ed Belfour and Marty Turco, Dal.
2000 Roman Turek, St.L Brian Boucher and J. Vanbiesbrouck, Phi.
1999 Ed Belfour and Dominik Hasek, Buf. Roman Turek, Dal
1998 Martin Brodeur, N.J Ed Belfour, Dal.
1997 Martin Brodeur and Chris Osgood and Mike Dunham, N.J Mike Vernon, Det.
1996 Chris Osgood and Martin Brodeur, N.J Mike Vernon, Det.
1995 Ed Belfour, Chi. Chris Osgood and Mike Vernon, Det.
1994 Dominik Hasek and Martin Brodeur and Grant Fuhr, Buf. Chris Terreri, N.J.
1993 Ed Belfour, Chi. Felix Potvin and Grant Fuhr, Tor.
1992 Patrick Roy, Mtl. Ed Belfour, Chi.
1991 Ed Belfour, Chi. Patrick Roy, Mtl.
1990 Andy Moog and Patrick Roy and Rejean Lemelin, Bos. Bryan Hayward, Mtl.
1989 Patrick Roy and Mike Vernon and Brian Hayward, Mtl. Rick Wamsley, Cgy.
1988 Patrick Roy and Clint Malarchuk and Brian Hayward, Mtl. Pete Peeters, Wsh.
1987 Patrick Roy and Ron Hextall, Phi. Brian Hayward, Mtl.
1986 Bob Froese and Al Jensen and Darren Jensen, Phi. Pat Riggin, Wsh.
1985 Tom Barrasso and Pat Riggin, Wsh. Bob Sauve, Buf.
1984 Al Jensen and Tom Barrasso and Pat Riggin, Wsh. Bob Sauve, Buf.
1983 Roland Melanson and Pete Peeters, Bos. Bill Smith, NYI
1982 Rick Wamsley and Bill Smith and Denis Herron, Mtl. Roland Melanson, NYI

View More