Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks Gillis Named General Manager of the Year

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Las Vegas - Mike Gillis of the Vancouver Canucks is the 2010-11 winner of the NHL General Manager of the Year Award. Voting for this award was conducted among the 30 Club General Managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the regular season.

Gillis built the Canucks into the NHL's top team in the 2010-11 regular season as they captured the Presidents' Trophy with a franchise-record 117 points (54-19-9) and claimed the Northwest Division title for the third time in his three years in Vancouver. He strengthened the Canucks defensively over the off-season by adding blueliners Keith Ballard and Dan Hamhuis and shutdown center Manny Malhotra. Such was Vancouver's organizational depth that the club allowed the fewest goals in the NHL (185) despite suffering a rash of injuries throughout the season that sidelined each of their top five defensemen. Gillis further bolstered team depth at the trade deadline with the acquisition of forwards Chris Higgins and Maxim Lapierre.

2010-2011 NHL General Manager of the Year Award Voting Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd)

1. Mike Gillis, VAN 96 (14-8-2)
2. Steve Yzerman, T.B. 61 (7-7-5)
3. David Poile, NSH 55 (6-6-7)
4. Bob Murray, ANA 35 (4-3-6)
5. Ray Shero, PIT 26 (3-2-5)
6. George McPhee, WSH 25 (2-4-3)
7. Peter Chiarelli, BOS 23 (2-3-4)
8. Don Maloney, PHX 12 (0-3-3)
9. Stan Bowman, CHI 8 (1-1-0)
10. Ken Holland, DET 6 (1-0-1)
11. Doug Wilson, S.J. 4 (0-1-1)
12. Paul Holmgren, PHI 3 (0-1-0)
Darcy Regier, BUF 3 (0-1-0)
14. Pierre Gauthier, MTL 1 (0-0-1)
Joe Nieuwendyk, DAL 1 (0-0-1)
Jim Rutherford, CAR 1 (0-0-1)

Previous NHL General Manager of the Year Award Winners Year Winner Team

2010 Don Maloney Phoenix

View More