Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks announce team awards

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Vancouver, B.C. – Vancouver, B.C. – The Vancouver Canucks announced their annual player awards for the 2014.15 season as voted by fans. The awards were presented in a pre-game ceremony that included special recognition of Canucks alumni and fan favourite, Gino Odjick.

Radim Vrbata earned the Cyclone Taylor Trophy as the Canucks MVP. He was also presented, by Gino Odjick, with the Pavel Bure “Most Exciting Player” award as selected by fans. Entering tonight’s game, Vrbata ranks third on the team in scoring (31-30-61), and first on the team in goals (31), powerplay goals (12) and game-winning goals (7).

Derek Dorsett is the recipient of the Fred J. Hume Award as the Canucks’ “Unsung Hero” as voted by fans. He appeared in his first season with the Canucks this year registering single-season career-highs in both points (25) and assists (18). The 6’0”, 187 pound forward currently leads the team in hits (165) and his team-leading 175 penalty minutes rank third in the League.

Chris Tanev is the fan-voted recipient of the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy for being the Best Defenceman for the first time in his career. Tanev has recorded a career-high 20 points (2-18-20) in his sixth season with the Canucks. He currently ranks first on the team in shorthanded time on ice per game (2:46) and second in even-strength time on ice per game (17:47). Tanev also leads the team and ranks 11th in the League in blocked shots this season with 169.

Summary of 2014.15 Vancouver Canucks Awards:
- Cyclone Taylor – “Most Valuable Player”: Radim Vrbata
- Walter (Babe) Pratt - “Best Defenceman”: Chris Tanev
- Pavel Bure – “Most Exciting Player”: Radim Vrbata
- Fred J. Hume - “Unsung Hero “: Derek Dorsett
- Three Star Award - “Most Three Stars Selections”: Ryan Miller
- Cyrus H. McLean – “Leading Scorer”: Daniel Sedin

View More