Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks announce team awards

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

VANCOUVER, B.C., — The Vancouver Canucks announced today the winners of their annual player awards for the 2012.13 season. Cory Schneider earned the Cyclone Taylor Trophy as the Canucks MVP, as selected by the fans, for the first time in his career. Through April 24, 2013, Schneider ranked tied for first in the NHL in shutouts (5) and third in save percentage (.927).

Jannik Hansen is the recipient of the Most Exciting Player award and the Fred J. Hume Award (Canucks “Unsung Hero”) as voted by fans this season. Hansen ranks third on the Canucks in scoring with 26 points (10-16-26) through 45 games played.

Dan Hamhuis is the recipient of the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy (voted by the fans) for being the Most Outstanding Defenceman for the first time in his career. Hamhuis ranks fourth on the Canucks in scoring overall and is the leading scoring defenceman.

The recipient of the Three Star Award as the player with the most Three Stars nominations throughout the season (as chosen by broadcasters) is yet to be determined.

Summary of 2012.13 Vancouver Canucks Awards:

♣ Cyclone Taylor - "Most Valuable Player": Cory Schneider

♣ Walter (Babe) Pratt - "Best Defenceman": Dan Hamhuis

♣ Most Exciting Player: Jannik Hansen

♣ Fred J. Hume - "Unsung Hero ": Jannik Hansen

♣ Three Star Award: “Most Three Stars Selections” To be determined

♣ Cyrus H. McLean - "Leading Scorer ": *Henrik Sedin

*Leads the Canucks in scoring through the first 46 games played

View More