Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks announce team awards

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

VANCOUVER, B.C., — The Vancouver Canucks announced today the winners of their annual player awards for the 2009-10 season. Henrik Sedin earned the Cyclone Taylor Award as the Canucks MVP, as selected by the fans, for the first time in his career.

Henrik has set career highs this NHL season with 108 points (29-79-108) through April 9, 2010. While posting career bests in all offensive categories, Henrik also is among the highest scoring players in the League and set a new franchise record in assists this season. In addition to being named Canucks MVP, Henrik also won the Cyrus McLean award as the team’s highest scorer and the Molson Cup Trophy presented to the player with the most Three Stars nominations throughout the season as chosen by broadcasters.

Alexandre Burrows is the recipient of the Most Exciting Player award as voted by fans this season. It is the third straight season in which Burrows was named the team’s Most Exciting player. This season, Burrows set new career highs in goals (35), assists (31) and points (66) through April 9, 2010. For the third consecutive year, Burrows is also leading the team in shorthanded goals (5), and is leading the NHL in shorthanded points (7) and is tied for the League lead in shorthanded goals.

Christian Ehrhoff is the recipient of the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy (voted by the fans) for being the Most Outstanding Defenceman in his first year with the Canucks. Ehrhoff is having a career year in goals (43) and points (43). Ehrhoff also leads all Canucks in plus/minus (33) and TOI (1,799:41).

Mason Raymond is the recipient of the Fred J. Hume Award for being the Canucks “Unsung Hero” as chosen by the Canucks Booster Club. This is Raymond’s first team award. Raymond set career highs in goals (25), assists (27) and points (52) in his third season with Vancouver.

Summary of 2009-10 Vancouver Canucks Awards:

Cyclone Taylor - "Most Valuable Player": Henrik Sedin
Walter (Babe) Pratt - "Best Defenceman": Christian Ehrhoff
Most Exciting Player: Alexandre Burrows
Fred J. Hume - "Unsung Hero ": Mason Raymond
Molson Cup Trophy - “Most Molson Cup Selections”: Henrik Sedin
Cyrus McLean - "Leading Scorer ": Henrik Sedin

View More