Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks announce 2015.16 Team Awards

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Vancouver, B.C. – The Vancouver Canucks announced their annual player awards for the 2015.16 season in a pre-game ceremony before hosting Edmonton for their final game of the season. One special award presentation was made earlier today as players arrived on Pat Quinn Way to meet dedicated fans in the Canucks Fan Zone.

Jannik Hansen was voted by fans as this season’s “Unsung Hero” and presented the Fred J. Hume award by a young fan this afternoon, Mikhail Maliouguine, as players entered Rogers Arena through the Canucks Fan Zone to greet and thank fans for their support. Hansen set career-highs for goals (21) and game-winning-goals (5) in 66 games played.

Daniel Sedin was the recipient of three awards this season; the Cyclone Taylor “Most Valuable Player, Cyrus H. McLean “Leading Scorer” and Three Stars Award for most selections this season. Sedin led the Canucks in scoring with 61 points (28-33-61) through 81 games played.

Ben Hutton was voted by fans as winner of the Walter (Babe) Pratt “Best Defenceman” award in his first NHL season. Hutton is the highest scoring defenceman on the team (1-24-25) and is the first rookie to lead all defencemen in scoring since 1997-98, when Mattias Ohlund scored 30 points in his rookie year.

Bo Horvat is the fan-voted recipient of the Most Exciting Player award, completing his second NHL season with career highs in goals (16), assists (24), points (40), power play points (12), game-winning goals (4), OT goals (1) and shots (152).

Summary of 2015.16 Vancouver Canucks Awards:

· Cyclone Taylor – “Most Valuable Player”: Daniel Sedin

· Walter (Babe) Pratt - “Best Defenceman”: Ben Hutton

· Pavel Bure – “Most Exciting Player”: Bo Horvat

· Fred J. Hume - “Unsung Hero “: Jannik Hansen

· Three Star Award: “Most Three Stars Selections”: Daniel Sedin

· Cyrus H. McLean – “Leading Scorer”: Daniel Sedin

View More