Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

A look at coaching seniority among NHL teams

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Job security is tenuous as an NHL coach, as the list below proves.

While rarities like Lindy Ruff of the Buffalo Sabres and Barry Trotz of the Nashville Predators have held onto their positions over the long haul, two-thirds of the League's teams have replaced their coaches as recently as 2009 and only five teams have employed their coaches for longer than five years now.

Dale Hunter of the Washington Capitals and Kirk Muller of the Carolina Hurricanes are the newest additions to the coaching fraternity, named Monday to replace Bruce Boudreau and Paul Maurice, their respective predecessors.

Here's a look at coaching seniority among the 30 NHL franchises:

Lindy Ruff Buffalo Sabres July 21, 1997
Barry Trotz Nashville Predators Aug. 6, 1997
Mike Babcock Detroit Red Wings July 14, 2005
Randy Carlyle Anaheim Ducks Aug. 1, 2005
Alain Vigneault Vancouver Canucks June 20, 2006
Claude Julien Boston Bruins June 21, 2007
Ron Wilson Toronto Maple Leafs June 10, 2008
Todd McLellan San Jose Sharks June 12, 2008
Terry Murray Los Angeles Kings July 17, 2008
Joel Quenneville Chicago Blackhawks Oct. 16, 2008
Dan Bylsma Pittsburgh Penguins Feb. 15, 2009
John Tortorella New York Rangers Feb. 23, 2009
Jacques Martin Montreal Canadiens June 1, 2009
Joe Sacco Colorado Avalanche June 4, 2009
Brent Sutter Calgary Flames June 23, 2009
Dave Tippett Phoenix Coyotes Sept. 24, 2009
Peter Laviolette Philadelphia Flyers Dec. 4, 2009
Scott Arniel Columbus Blue Jackets June 8, 2010
Guy Boucher Tampa Bay Lightning June 10, 2010
Tom Renney Edmonton Oilers June 22, 2010
Jack Capuano New York Islanders Nov. 15, 2010
Kevin Dineen Florida Panthers June 1, 2011
Paul MacLean Ottawa Senators June 14, 2011
Glen Gulutzan Dallas Stars June 17, 2011
Mike Yeo Minnesota Wild June 17, 2011
Claude Noel Winnipeg Jets June 24, 2011
Peter DeBoer New Jersey Devils July 19, 2011
Ken Hitchcock St. Louis Blues Nov. 6, 2011
Dale Hunter Washington Capitals Nov. 28, 2011
Kirk Muller Carolina Hurricanes Nov. 28, 2011

View More