Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

A Hockey Life - Kevin Bieksa

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Kevin Bieksa mans the blueline for the Canucks game after game but when he goes home, he's a dad to an energetic one-year old.

Morning Routine:

My alarm clock is a one year old – I basically get up when my son gets up (usually 7:30 or 8:00). We turn on the TV so he can watch his favourite cartoons in bed: Curious George and Sid the Science Kid. Then I go make some oatmeal for everybody so we sit and watch cartoons together.

Favourite item in the house:

I like my sectional. It’s an Italian leather sectional I got four years ago at a store out in Coquitlam, thought I can’t remember what it was called. It’s very soft and comfortable - I spend many hours on it.

Always in the fridge:

Vitamin water. Restore is my favourite flavor. It’s grape.

Question you always get asked at parties:

Can I get you a beer?
Self Indulgence:

Dairy Queen ice cream cake. That’s my favourite. I’ve asked for it the past ten years and I’ve never been disappointed. I prefer it to be plain, without the icing on top.

My second year, when I got injured, there was a lady in my building who owned a Dairy Queen. She put a picture of me on a cake and the words “Get well soon” and delivered it to me.

Holy Grail concert:

Tragically Hip. I’ve seen them twice: once back home and once here in the Commodore.

Favourite song:

I like Wheat Kings.  

Hockey momento:

I keep some things, but I give them to my dad.

He’s got most of the stuff: the puck from my first goal, and my first point, he even has my draft jersey… no, I think I wrestled that from my dad this summer, but he gets most of my stuff.


No pets right now.

Obsolete item you won’t part with:

I get rid of most stuff that’s not useful. If I don’t use it, it’s gone.
On the TV:

I can’t say that, it’s too embarrassing. The guys will give it to me… I’ll go with “So You Think You Can Dance Canada”. It’s a good show.


Nope. Nothing.

Next purchase:

My next purchase is going to be book shelves for my office at home. I don’t have one right now, but I will this summer. It’s more for my wife – I guess I should say HER office.

Childhood career:

When I was really young I wanted to be a dentist and go to Colgate University, I don’t know why. I used to go to Junior B games in my hometown all the time when I was little and there was a guy who got a scholarship to Colgate and he was my favourite player. I guess that was it. But that went away pretty quickly.

Bed routine:

I’ll usually watch a movie at night – something we’ve recorded on the PVR – and wind down with my wife. We always have tea, but we mix it up, sometimes Earl Grey, or Orange Pekoe, or some specialty tea (she picks). The time sort of depends on when my son goes down, usually 8 or 8:30.

Last thing:

I always put my Blackberry Pearl by my bed. I’ve had it for the past two years and I’m lost without it.
View More