Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Price named Hart Trophy finalist

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens

MONTREAL – Carey Price was named a finalist for the Hart Trophy on Wednesday, which is awarded to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team.

The 27-year-old will vie for the award alongside Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals and John Tavares of the New York Islanders.

Price enjoyed a remarkable 2014-15 regular season campaign, leading the League with 44 wins, a 1.96 goals-against average and a .933 save percentage, in addition to registering nine shutouts, one back of Pittsburgh Penguins netminder Marc-Andre Fleury. He also made his fourth career appearance at the NHL All-Star Game back in January.

The Anahim Lake, BC native established several franchise records during the year, including setting a new mark for securing the most wins in a single season. He surpassed the previous mark of 42 victories recorded twice by Jacques Plante (1955-56 and 1961-62) and once by Ken Dryden (1975-76). The eight-year NHL veteran also rattled off a team-record 10 straight road wins between December 23 and February 26.

His stellar work earned him his first career William M. Jennings Trophy, sharing the honour with Corey Crawford of the Chicago Blackhawks. The award is given to the goaltender(s) who played at least 25 games for the club(s) while allowing the fewest number of goals. Both Montreal and Chicago gave up 189 goals during the regular season. It’s the first time since the 2002-03 campaign that goaltenders on two separate teams claimed the award.

Price was named the Canadiens’ Molson Cup Player of the Year for the 2014-15 season, earning the honour for the fifth year in a row.

Montreal players have captured the Hart Trophy a League-leading 16 times over the years. Twelve different players have earned the award, the last of which was goaltender Jose Theodore in 2002.

Price was also named a finalist for the Vezina Trophy, which is awarded to the goaltender judged to be the best at his position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs.

The NHL Awards will be held on Wednesday, June 24, at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Subban named Norris Trophy finalist
Price named Vezina Trophy finalist

View More