Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Phillip Danault is the 2018-19 Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy recipient

Set career highs in assists, points, differential, faceoff wins, blocked shots, and hits this season

by Montreal Canadiens @CanadiensMTL / News release

MONTREAL - Members of the media assigned to the Montreal Canadiens voted forward Phillip Danault as the 2018-19 recipient of the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually to the member of the Canadiens who played a dominant role during the regular season, without earning any particular honor. This marks the second time Danault has won this trophy in his career, having previously earned it in 2016-17. He succeeds forward Paul Byron who was the recipient of the award last season.

Danault received the most votes in the race for the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy, earning 109 points in the overall standings ahead of Andrew Shaw (43 points) and Jeff Petry (41 points). 

In his third full season with the Canadiens, Danault has set career-highs in assists (39 - ranking 2nd on the team), points (51), differential (+20 - 2nd on the team), faceoffs wins (833 - leading the team and tied with D. Larkin for 7th in the NHL), blocked shots (54) and hits (89). The Victoriaville, Quebec native played his 200th career game in the NHL on November 3 against the Lightning and registered the 100th point of his career on December 29 at Tampa Bay. The 6'01'' and 198 lbs forward netted his first NHL hat trick on December 22 at Vegas.

Created in 1981 to honor the memory of the legendary sportswriter who spent most of his professional career covering the Canadiens, the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy was first awarded to Doug Jarvis following the 1981-82 season.

2018-19 Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy Rankings

Player 1 2 3 Points
Phillip Danault 31 8 0 109
Andrew Shaw 4 12 7 43
Jeff Petry 4 10 9 41
View More