Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Paul Byron voted the 2015-16 Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy recipient

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens


MONTREAL - Members of the media assigned to the Montreal Canadiens voted forward Paul Byron as the 2015-16 recipient of the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually to the member of the Canadiens who played a dominant role during the regular season, without earning any particular honor. Byron succeeds forward Dale Weise who earned the award in 2014-15.

Byron received the most votes in the race for the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy, earning 122 points in the overall standings ahead of goaltender Mike Condon (118 points) and forward Torrey Mitchell (25 points).

In his first season with the Canadiens, Byron set career highs in goals (11) and games played (61) since the beginning of the 2015-16 season. The 5'8'', 158-lbs forward collected seven assists for a total of 18 points, six penalty minutes and two game-winning goals. He ranks second on the team (first among forwards) with 112 hits. The Ottawa native is tied for sixth in the league (with seven other players) with three shorthanded goals and ranks tied for fifth in the NHL (with two other skaters) with five shorthanded points.

Created in 1981 to honor the memory of the legendary sportswriter who spent most of his professional career covering the Canadiens, the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy was first awarded to Doug Jarvis following the 1981-82 season.

View More