Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Mark Streit claims 2007-08 Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens

MONTREAL – For a second-straight season, local media members covering the Canadiens have selected Mark Streit as the winner of the Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually to the Canadiens' player to have played a dominant role during the regular season without obtaining any particular honor.

Streit received the most first-place votes in the race for the Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy, finishing ahead of defensemen Roman Hamrlik, Josh Gorges and Mike Komisarek.

A native of Englisberg, Switzerland, Streit leads the Canadiens with 48 assists and ranks third with 60 points in 80 games. He also set other personal bests with 12 goals and average ice time (17:29). Streit currently ranks fifth among NHL defensemen in scoring  (12 goals, 48 assists) and second in powerplay points with 34 (7 goals, 27 assists).

Created in 1981 to honor the memory of a sportswriter who spent most of his professional career covering the Canadiens, the Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy was first awarded to Doug Jarvis following the 1981-82 season.

Over the years, Craig Ludwig (1982-83, 1984-85, 1985-86) and Mike McPhee (1987-88, 1989-90, 1990-91) each won the award three times, while Benoit Brunet received the Trophy on two occasions (1994-95, 1998-99). Current Habs Steve Bégin (2004-05), Francis Bouillon (2003-04) and Patrice Brisebois (1997-98) are also former Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy winners.
View More