Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Lapierre earns Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens

MONTREAL - Members of the media covering the Montreal Canadiens voted Maxim Lapierre as the Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy winner for the 2008-09 season. Awarded annually, the trophy recognizes the Canadiens player who had a dominant role during the regular season, without obtaining any
particular honor.

Lapierre, 24, received the most first-place votes in the race for the Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy, registering 128 points in overall standings, and finishing ahead of forward Tom Kostopoulos (70 points) and defenseman Josh Gorges (57 points).

A native of St-Leonard, Quebec, Lapierre is enjoying his most productive NHL season with 28 points in 78 games (15 goals, 13 assists) and posted the third best rating of all Canadiens players (+9).

Averaging close to 15 minutes of ice time per game this season, Lapierre leads the Canadiens with a 66.7% (2/3) success rate in shootouts and boasts the second best winning percentage of all Montreal skaters in the face-off circle (53%).

The 6-2, 207-pound forward, who led the team down the stretch with 39 hits in March, scored his first NHL hat trick on last December 29 in Florida against the Panthers.

In 1981-1982, Doug Jarvis became the first recipient of the trophy honoring the memory of Jacques Beauchamp, a sportswriter who spent most of his professional career covering the Canadiens.

Over the years, Craig Ludwig (1982-83, 1984-85, 1985-86) and Mike McPhee (1987-88, 1989-90, 1990-91) each captured the trophy on three occasions, while Benoit Brunet earned the honors twice (1994-95, 1998-99).

Francis Bouillon (2003-04) and Patrice Brisebois (1997-98) also won the Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy.
View More