Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Koivu earns King Clancy Trophy

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens
King Clancy Trophy Recipients
2007 Saku Koivu
2006 Olaf Kolzig
2004 Jarome Iginla
2003 Brendan Shanahan
2002 Ron Francis
2001 Shjon Podein
2000 Curtis Joseph
1999 Rob Ray
1998 Kelly Chase
1997 Trevor Linden
1996 Kris King
1995 Joe Nieuwendyk
1994 Adam Graves
1993 Dave Poulin
1992 Ray Bourque
1991 Dave Taylor
1990 Kevin Lowe
1989 Bryan Trottier
1988 Lanny McDonald
Canadiens captain's community commitment honored on NHL Awards Night

MONTREAL - After 12 seasons with the Canadiens, goals and assists only scratch the surface of what Saku Koivu is all about. At the NHL Awards in Toronto on Thursday night, Koivu's true impact was given its due.

Koivu became the first Canadiens player to ever earn the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, recognizing the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities both on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution to the community. Awarded since the 1987-88 season when the Flames' Lanny McDonald was the first-ever winner, the recognition of Koivu was only a matter of time.

After his courageous battle with cancer in 2001-02, the Canadiens captain has continued to be an inspiration to cancer patients around the globe. Among his proudest achievements was the creation of the Saku Koivu Foundation in 2002, which has since collected over $2.5 million including the acquisition of a PET/CT (Positron Emission Tomography/X-ray computed tomography) scan machine for the Montreal General Hospital.

Countless children have been touched by Koivu's involvement, and he continues to regularly meet with cancer patients who send him countless cards and letters each day. The Canadiens' spokesperson for the NHL's Hockey Fights Cancer campaign, he was also honored for his commitment to cancer research in 2003-04 when Koivu was the first recipient of the Jean Beliveau Trophy in 2003-04, honoring the Habs player who had the biggest impact in the community.

Koivu also won the Bill Masterton Trophy in 2001-02, in recognition of his courageous battle back from cancer.

View More