Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Josh Gorges voted the 2009-10Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy recipient

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens

MONTREAL – Members of the media covering the Montreal Canadiens selected defenseman Josh Gorges as the 2009-10 recipient of the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually to the member of the Canadiens who played a dominant role during the regular season, without earning any particular honor. Gorges succeeds Maxim Lapierre who captured the award for the 2008-09 season and ranked third in the standings in
last year’s voting.

Gorges received the most first-place votes in the race for the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy, with a total of 138 points in the overall standings, finishing ahead of teammates Glen Metropolit (124 points) and Marc-André Bergeron (24 points).

A native of Kelowna, BC, Gorges finished second on the Canadiens with a total of 1,704:48 minutes of play. He also led the Canadiens with a per game average of 3:11 minutes on the penalty killing. Gorges blocked 158 shots this season, first on the Canadiens and 12th in NHL. He also scored the game-winning goal in overtime in the first regular game this season at Toronto.

The 6-1, 200-pound defenseman, who only missed one game in the 2008-09 season, played every game this season. Gorges was the Canadiens’ candidate to the Bill Masterton Trophy in 2008-09, awarded annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Created in 1981 to honor the memory of a sportswriter who spent most of his professional career covering the Canadiens, the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy was first awarded to Doug Jarvis following the 1981-82 season.

Over the years, Craig Ludwig (1982-83, 1984-85, 1985-86) and Mike McPhee (1987-88, 1989-90, 1990-91) each won the award three times, while Benoit Brunet received the Trophy on two occasions (1994-95, 1998-99).

See also:
Halak earns Masterton nomination
Upended by Carolina 
Guy Boucher named AHL's top coach 
View More