Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

How the East was won

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens
MONTREAL -- With a little help from the Philadelphia Flyers, the Canadiens are Eastern Conference champions. 

Thanks to their 104-point campaign, Guy Carbonneau's squad will enjoy home-ice advantage through the first three rounds of the playoffs after finishing two points clear of the Penguins, who dropped a 2-0 decision to the Flyers in Philadelphia on Sunday.

The conference crown is the Habs’ first since 1988-89 when they piled up 115 regular-season points before reaching the Stanley Cup Finals that spring.

Since the NHL moved to a conference system in 1974-75, the Canadiens have emerged as their conference’s top dog a total of eight times. Under the watchful eye of legendary coach Scotty Bowman, the Habs rattled off four straight Wales Conference titles from 1975-76 through 1978-79 on their way to winning four consecutive Stanley Cups. Montreal also finished first in both 1980-81 and 1987-88.

Manny Almela is a writer for
View More