Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Hall of Famers enshrined on Ring of Honor

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens

The Montreal Canadiens announced Thursday that it will honor 44 of its players and 10 Great Builders who have been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame by enshrining them on the team’s Ring of Honor located in the Bell Centre bowl.
The Canadiens’ Centennial celebrations are part of a truly historic and landmark platform in which the team’s legendary players will be honored because of their exploits and on-ice performances, which greatly contributed to establishing the Canadiens’ supremacy and confirming the club as one of the greatest sports franchises in the world.

While these legendary figures have long been a part of the Bell Centre, their presence will from now on be emphasized with the Ring of Honor, which will permanently become an integral part of the home of the Canadiens. Encircling the arena bowl in harmony with the 24 Stanley Cup banners and those of the 15 retired jerseys, the Ring of Honor will provide a unique display of historical tradition. It will also forever perpetuate the careers of 44 legendary players and 10 Great builders and be an invaluable source of inspiration for the players and a source of pride for Canadiens fans every time they walk into the Bell Centre.

The order on the Ring of Honor corresponds to the players and Great builders’ Hockey Hall of Fame induction year.



Howie Morenz (1945)

Doug Harvey (1973)

William Northey (1945)

Georges Vézina (1945)

Dickie Moore (1974)

Hon. Donat Raymond (1958)

Aurèle Joliat (1947)

Jacques Plante (1978)

Frank J. Selke (1960)

Newsy Lalonde (1950)

Henri Richard (1979)

J. Ambrose O’Brien (1962)

Joe Malone (1950)

Lorne Worsley (1980)

Léo Dandurand (1963)

Sprague Cleghorn (1958)

Frank Mahovlich (1981)

Tommy Gorman (1963)

Herb Gardiner (1958)

Yvan Cournoyer (1982)

Hon. Hartland Molson (1973)

Sylvio Mantha (1960)

Ken Dryden (1983)

Joe Cattarinich (1977)

Joe Hall (1961)

Jacques Lemaire (1984)

Sam Pollock (1978),

George Hainsworth (1961)

Bert Olmstead (1985)

Scotty Bowman (1991)

Maurice Richard (1961)

Serge Savard (1986)


Jack Laviolette (1962)

Jacques Laperrière (1987)


Didier Pitre (1962)

Guy Lafleur (1988)


Bill Durnan (1964)

Buddy O’Connor (1988)


Albert Siebert (1964)

Bob Gainey (1992)


Hector Blake (1966)

Guy Lapointe (1993)


Émile Bouchard (1966)

Steve Shutt (1993)


Elmer Lach (1966)

Larry Robinson (1995)


Kenny Reardon (1966)

Denis Savard (2000)


Tom Johnson (1970)

Rod Langway (2002)


Jean Béliveau (1972)

Patrick Roy (2006)


Bernard Geoffrion (1972)

Dick Duff (2006)


The Ring of Honor will be unveiled prior to the Canadiens’ 100th season home opener at the Bell Centre on Wednesday October 15 when the Boston Bruins will be the visitors.

View More