Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Canadiens renew their support of the Fondation de l'athlète d'excellence

The organization is proud to support the next generation in women's and men's hockey

by Montreal Canadiens @CanadiensMTL / News release

MONTREAL - The Montreal Canadiens announced the renewal and enhancement of its partnership with the Fondation de l'athlète d'excellence du Québec (FAEQ) to support the next generation in women's and men's hockey. 

Founded in 2008, the Montreal Canadiens Bursary Program will be extended for three more years. Annual investments of $60,000 will be made until 2023 for a total of $180,000. In addition to supporting the top student-athletes in the Quebec Midget AAA Hockey League and the women's provincial team, starting next year, the Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) as well as the Ligue de hockey préparatoire scolaire (LHPS) will also be able to refer future scholarship recipients to the program. A new Leadership or Perseverance bursary will also be permanently added to the existing scholarship categories of Academic Excellence, honouring student-athletes with outstanding academic achievements, and of Support for Academic and Athletic Achievement, awarded to further encourage a better conciliation of sports and academics.

"We are pleased to continue our partnership with the Fondation de l'athlète d'excellence du Québec and to support young hockey players of secondary school age in conciliating their academic and athletic careers. While the Quebec Midget AAA Hockey League remains the main elite circuit for this age category, we are now witnessing the emergence of beautiful talents that are developing and flourishing in other leagues, and it was important for us to include them in our Canadiens Bursary Program," said Geoff Molson, owner, president and CEO of the Montreal Canadiens.

"The Montreal Canadiens organization is certainly a major actor in the development of hockey among our young emerging players in Quebec, and by increasing the total amount of its contribution it plays an even bigger role as a leader in its community by inspiring and motivating young student-athletes to excel. It's a great feeling to be supported and recognized by the most famous hockey club in the world! The FAEQ and the Canadiens form a prestigious partnership dedicated to the success of our province's best hockey student-athletes," added Claude Chagnon, president of the FAEQ.

Mr. Geoff Molson took the opportunity to present 28 bursaries of $1,500 to the most promising Quebec student-athletes in hockey, aged between 15 and 18, during the 13th bursary awards ceremony of the Program, which took place at the Bell Centre prior to the game between the Canadiens and the Arizona Coyotes. Eight bursaries were awarded to laureate players from the women's provincial team looking to be selected by Canada's national team, while 21 bursaries were handed out to young hockey players from the Midget AAA level. As one of the eligibility criteria for the Montreal Canadiens Bursary Program managed by the FAEQ focuses on the scholastic perseverance of young athletes in preparing for a career after sports, the bursary recipients were not solely selected for their on-ice accomplishments, but based on their academic results as well.

The 28 student-athletes honoured on Monday will follow in the footsteps of fellow FAEQ scholarship holders with stellar achievements, including multiple Olympic medal winners in women's hockey Marie-Philip Poulin, Mélodie Daoust, Lauriane Rougeau and Ann-Renée Desbiens. In men's hockey, the 2019 Stanley Cup champion Samuel Blais of the St. Louis Blues is part of the impressive group of former distinguished recipients of the bursary program, which includes many other players who are now evolving in the National Hockey League (NHL), including Maxime Comtois (Anaheim Ducks), Anthony Duclair (Ottawa Senators), Samuel Girard (Colorado Avalanche), Michael Matheson (Florida Panthers) and Nicolas Roy (Vegas Golden Knights).

(28 scholarships of $1,500 each)

Category: Women
Name Age City Team
Academic Excellence
Meghane Duchesne Chalifoux 17 Montréal (Anjou) Islanders du Collège John Abbott
Leah Kosowski 16 Châteauguay Warriors du Lac St-Louis (midget AAA féminin)
Émilie Lussier 17 Sainte-Martine Warriors du Lac St-Louis (midget AAA féminin)
Jade Picard 18 Saint-Narcisse-de-Beaurivage Cougars du Collège Champlain-Lennoxville
Gabrielle Santerre 16 Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu Remparts du Richelieu (midget AAA féminin)
Noémie Vermette 17 Lévis (Saint-Étienne-de-Lauzon) Titans du Cégep Limoilou
Academic and Athletic Support
Rose-Michelle Cardin 17 Saint-Hyacinthe Cougars du Collège Champlain-Lennoxville
Kaléann Laforge 16 Saint-Nazaire d'Acton Stars 55 de la Mauricie (midget AAA féminin)
Category: Men
Name Age City Team
Academic Excellence
Justin Bergeron 16 Bromont Cantonniers de Magog
Alexis Bonefon 15 Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu Riverains du Collège Charles-Lemoyne
Charles Boutin 17 Boischatel Blizzard du Séminaire Saint-François
François-James Buteau 15 Blainville Phénix du Collège Esther-Blondin
Adam Cardona 16 Beaconsfield Lions du Lac St-Louis
Zacharie Charest 16 Saint-Alexandre-de-Kamouraska Albatros du Collège Notre-Dame
Mathis Cloutier 17 Mirabel Vikings de Saint-Eustache
Mikael Diotte 16 Sainte-Julie Gaulois de Saint-Hyacinthe
Nathan Drapeau 15 Mont-Joli Albatros du Collège Notre-Dame
Vincent Filion 15 Shawinigan Estacades de Trois-Rivières
Steven Fournier 17 Mascouche Forestiers d'Amos
Maveric Lamoureux 16 Sainte-Sophie Élites de Jonquière
Charles-Alexis Legault 16 Montréal (Pierrefonds-Roxboro) Lions du Lac St-Louis
Tristan Luneau 16 Trois-Rivières Estacades de Trois-Rivières
Michael Mastrodomenico 15 Kirkland Rousseau-Royal de Laval-Montréal
Félix Paquet 16 Bedford Cantonniers de Magog
Luke Stegmann 17 Gatineau (Hull) L'Intrépide de Gatineau
Antonin Verreault 15 Mirabel Vikings de Saint-Eustache
Academic and Athletic Support
Justin Côté 15 Salaberry-de-Valleyfield Grenadiers de Châteauguay
Elliot Lavoie 16 Lévis Chevaliers de Lévis

About the Fondation de l'athlète d'excellence du Québec (FAEQ)

This year, the FAEQ celebrates its 35 years of existence and success thanks to its personalized approach, its rigorous management and its influence. In 2020, it will give close to $1,500,000 in individual scholarships to approximately 525 student-athletes from across Quebec, in addition to providing them with accompaniment services in terms of academic orientation, career transition, mentoring and internships in companies. Three events open to the public and for the benefit of the FAEQ will take place in the upcoming months: the Érabl'hier de demain with Laurent Duvernay-Tardif on April 7, at the Windsor Station; the 808 Bonneville Challenge on September 18 and 19 in Mont-Tremblant; and the Bruny Surin Foundation Gala on October 2 at the Windsor. For more information, please visit

View More