Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Andrei Markov is the Montreal Canadiens candidate for the Bill Masterton Trophy in 2014-15

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens


MONTREAL - The Montreal chapter of the Professionnal Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) announced Monday the selection of Montreal Canadiens’ defenseman Andrei Markov as the team’s candidate for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for the 2014-15 season. Canadiens’ forward Max Pacioretty was the award recipient in 2011-12.

The 36-year old Markov is completing his 14th NHL season. Throughout the season, he has been a true example of sportsmanship, perseverance and determination. Drafted by the Canadiens in the sixth round at the 1998 NHL Entry Draft, Markov has played the Canadiens’ 76 games so far this season. He has missed only one game since the 2012-13 season, after being out of the lineup for 75 games and 69 games, respectively, in 2010-11 and 2011-12 due to injuries.

The Voskresensk, USSR native leads the Canadiens in powerplay assists (18) and points (22), ranking respectively tied for seventh and tied for sixth among NHL defensemen. He comes in second on the team with 35 assists and a 24:51 time on ice average. His +20 differential ranks him third on the team (tied for seventh among league defensemen).

The Canadiens’ defenseman will now be in contention with the league’s 29 other nominees for this coveted award.

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. The winner is selected by a poll among the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. The trophy commemorates the late Bill Masterton, a player with the Minnesota North Stars, who lost his life following an NHL game on January 15, 1968.

Five Canadiens players have been awarded with the Masterton in league history; Max Pacioretty (2011-12), Saku Koivu (2001-02), Serge Savard (1978-79), Henri Richard (1973-74) and Claude Provost (1967-68), who became the first recipient of the award.

View More