Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

28 young hockey players selected for the Canadiens Scholarship program

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens

MONTREAL – For the third straight year the Montreal Canadiens Scholarship Program and the Quebec Foundation for Athletic Excellence teamed up to reward young players for their scholastic achievements and on-ice performances. In 2008, the Montreal Canadiens announced a $100,000 investment over three years to support the initiatives of Quebec Foundation for Athletic Excellence and create a support program to benefit the most promising young players in both women’s and men’s hockey.

During a ceremony at the Bell Centre prior to the game between the Canadiens and the St. Louis Blues, General Manager Bob Gainey awarded a $1,000 to 28 young hockey players, including eight scholarships to players between 15 and 18 years old who are members of the Quebec Women’s Hockey Team and who are aiming for a selection on the Canadian Women’s National Team. The remaining 20 scholarships were handed out to young hockey currently playing in the Midget AAA League.

“As a professional sports franchise, it is our duty to support the development of hockey and to encourage up and coming players. The future of professional hockey starts with young people enjoying their favourite sport all throughout the province. It is our responsibility to provide them with the resources for them to succeed. I congratulate all recipients for their achievements and wish them the best for the remainder of their hockey season,” said Canadiens General Manager Bob Gainey.

“The Foundation is very pleased to support our young hockey players at this stage of their young careers through the Montreal Canadiens Scholarship Program. This initiative plays a key role in promoting role models for young hockey players in Québec,” indicated Foundation President Claude Chagnon.

The 2010 recipients were selected based on their on-ice performances and scholastic achievements at the high school or collegiate (CEGEP) levels. The Montreal Canadiens Scholarship Program is managed by the Quebec Foundation for Athletic Excellence in partnership with the Hockey Québec and the Midget AAA Hockey League. Sylvain Lalonde, Executive Director of Hockey Québec, and Midget AAA President Claude Gauthier are very satisfied and grateful for the support of the Montreal Canadiens over the last three years and the work of the Quebec Foundation for Athletic Excellence. “The Montreal Canadiens Sponsorship Program is a natural tie-in with our organization and it further emphasizes our objectives in developing individuals through their sporting performances and academic achievements,” added MM. Lalonde and Gauthier.

($1,000 scholarship to each of the 28 recipients)
Mélodie DAOUST 18 Salaberry-de-Valleyfield Lynx du Collège Édouard-Montpetit
Gabrielle DAVIDSON 16 Pointe-Claire Élites du Lac St-Louis
Emily DAVIES 15 Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue Élites du Lac St-Louis
Abbey FRASER 15 Hudson Panthers de Lakeshore
Laurie KINGSBURY 17 Salaberry-de-Valleyfield Patriotes de St-Laurent
Christine LAMBERT 17 Thetford Mines Mavericks/Académie de hockey de l’Ontario
Laurie-Anne MÉNARD 17 Chicoutimi Dawson College Blues
Cassandra POUDRIER 17 Terrebonne Pionnières de Lanaudière
Alec Jon BANVILLE 15 St-Majorique Cantonniers de Magog
Mathieu BOUDREAU 16 St-Joseph du Lac Vikings de St-Eustache
Marc-Olivier BROUILLARD 16 Mont St-Hilaire Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard
Félix CHAMBERLAND 16 Lévis Commandeurs de Lévis
Luca CIAMPINI 15 La Salle Patriotes de Châteauguay
Jordan CÔTÉ 16 Plessiville Estacades de Trois-Rivières
Nicolas DIONNE 17 Amos Forestiers d’Amos
Jérémie FRASER 15 Gatineau Intrépide de Gatineau
Frédéric GAMELIN 15 St-Polycarpe Patriotes de Châteauguay
Carl HOZJAN 16 Terrebonne Forestiers d’Amos
Mathieu LAVERDURE 16 St-Charles-Borromée Phénix du Collège Esther-Blondin
Alexandre LECLERC 15 St-Augustin Blizzard du Séminaire St-François
Julien LEDUC 15 Valleyfield Patriotes de Châteauguay
Louick MARCOTTE 16 Longueuil Riverains du Collège Charles-Lemoyne
Michael MATHESON 15 Pointe-Claire Lions du Lac St-Louis
Jeffrey NOONAN 17 Laval Rousseau Royal Laval Montréal
Dominic POULIN 16 Ancienne-Lorette Blizzard du Séminaire St-François
Victor PROVENCHER 16 St-Jean-sur-le-Richelieu Riverains du Collège Charles-Lemoyne
Samuel ROUSSY 16 Paspébiac Hope Albatros du Collège Notre-Dame
François TREMBLAY 15 Sept-Iles Élites de Jonquière
View More