Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

2016 NHL All-Star Skills Competition

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens

2016 NHL All-Star Skills Competiton - Bridgestone Arena - Nashville, TN

Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater

Eastern Conference:
  • Dylan Larkin (DET) - Winner
  • Brandon Saad (CLB)
  • Erik Karlsson (OTT)
  • Kris Letang (PIT)
Western Conference:
  • Roman Josi (NSH)
  • Matt Duchene (COL)
  • Taylor Hall (EDM)
  • Dustin Byfuglien (WPG)
The Eastern Conference claimed the evening's opening event 3-1, and picked up two additional bonus points courtesy of Dylan Larkin, who was the fastest of the eight skaters (12.894 seconds). Larkin also proceeded to set the NHL All-Star record for the fastest-ever lap time (13.172 seconds).

Eastern Conference 5 - Western Conference 1

Honda Breakaway Challenge

Eastern Conference:
  • Brandon Saad (CBJ)
  • Evgeny Kuznetsov (WSH)
  • P.K. Subban (MTL) - Winner
Western Conference:
  • James Neal (NSH)
  • Matt Duchene (COL)
  • Brent Burns (SJS)
In an event that would ultimately be determined by a fan vote on Twitter, P.K. Subban put on a great show, particularly on his second breakaway attempt. Subban impersonated veteran Jaromir Jagr, sporting a Panthers jersey - along with No. 68's trademark hairstyle - before scoring and proceeding to do Jagr's goal salute. Subban ultimately came out on top in the competition, securing the breakaway crown.

Eastern Conference 6 - Western Conference 1

DraftKings Accuracy Shooting

Eastern Conference:
  • John Tavares (NYI)
  • Patrice Bergeron (BOS)
  • Claude Giroux (PHI)
  • Evgeni Malkin (PIT)
  • Nicklas Backstrom (WSH) - Passer
  • Jaromir Jagr (FLA) - Passer
Western Conference:
  • Patrick Kane (CHI)
  • Joe Pavelski (SJS)
  • Corey Perry (ANA)
  • Jamie Benn (DAL)
  • Drew Doughty (LAK) - Passer
  • Vladimir Tarasenko (STL) - Passer
Eastern Conference 9 - Western Conference 3

Gatorade Skills Challenge Relay

The Eastern Conference claimed the first half of the event rather easily, but the Western Conference rallied to win the second by 17 seconds.

Eastern Conference 10 - Western Conference 5

AMP Energy Hardest Shot

Eastern Conference
Aaron Ekblad (FLA)
Evgeni Malkin (PIT)
Steven Stamkos (TBL)
P.K. Subban (MTL)

Western Conference
Dustin Byfuglien (WIN)
Tyler Seguin (DAL)
John Scott
Shea Weber (NSH) - Winner

Shea Weber claimed the competition once again with a winning blast of 108.1 mph. P.K. Subban finished in fourth spot with a top shot of 102.3 mph.

Eastern Conference 12 - Western Conference 8

Discover NHL Shootout

P.K. Subban is stopped by Minnesota Wild goaltender Devan Dubnyk on both of his attempts.

FINAL: Eastern Conference 29 - Western Conference 12

View More