Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

P-Bruins Receive League Honors

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
Providence, RI - The Providence Bruins, the regular season points-champions of the American Hockey League, received several team and individual honors from the AHL prior to Sunday afternoon's game against the Lowell Devils at the Dunkin' Donuts Center.

With AHL President and CEO David Andrews in attendance, the presentations began by honoring rookie defenseman Adam McQuaid as the P-Bruins' American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year for his outstanding contributions to the Providence community and charitable organizations over the course of the season.

Pascal Pelletier, who finished as Providence's leading-scorer with 37 goals and 74 points, was honored next as a member of the AHL's All-Star First Team.

The ceremony continued with goalie Jordan Sigalet being recognized for winning the league's Fred T. Hunt Memorial Award for sportsmanship, determination and dedication to hockey.

Following the players, an emphasis was put on the team, beginning with head coach Scott Gordon. He, along with assistant Rob Murray, guided the P-Bruins to the top record in the AHL during the regular season as the team approached franchise-highs with 55 wins and 117 points. For his efforts, the fifth-year bench boss was the recipient of the Louis A.R. Pieri Award as the AHL's outstanding coach.

The presentations concluded with captain Nate Thompson accepting three trophy's on his club's behalf, the Emile Francis Trophy as Atlantic Division champions, the Frank S. Mathers Trophy as Eastern Conference regular season champs and the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy for leading the league in points. Tina Marsh, the granddaughter of the late Macgregor Kilpatrick, and her family joined Andrews for the final presentation.
View More