Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Krejci Wins NESN's Seventh Player Award

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
BOSTON, MA – Before the Bruins/Senators game on Thursday night, Bruins center David Krejci was named the winner of NESN’s Seventh Player Award presented by the New England Dodge Dealers.

Voted on by Bruins fans online at, NESN’s Seventh Player Award is an annual award presented to the Bruin who went above and beyond the call of duty and exceed the expectations of Bruins fans during the 2008-2009 season. In addition to the Seventh Player Award trophy, Krejci will take home a 2009 Dodge Ram, courtesy of New England Dodge Dealers.

This year, in his first full season with the Bruins, the 22-year-old Krejci established career highs in games played (76, previous career high 56), goals (22, previous 6), assists (49, previous 21), points (71, previous 27) and plus/minus rating (+36, previous -3). Krejci - who ranks second on the team and 24th in the entire NHL in points - is one of four Bruins to have played in all 76 games to date, while his +36 rating currently leads the league.

Krejci has recorded 21 multiple point games this season - second on the team to Marc Savard, who has 24 - and a team high seven three-point-or-more games, including his first career hat trick against Toronto on December 18. The team is 19-0-1 in games when Krejci has scored a goal, 27-2-5 when he has an assist and 36-2-5 when he has recorded a point. He also leads the team in game-winning points with 6-8-14 totals.

Originally drafted by the Bruins in the second round (63rd overall) of the 2004 NHL Entry Draft, Krejci made his NHL and Bruins debut on January 30, 2007.

This was the 40th presentation of the Seventh Player Award and Krejci is just the second European born player to have won it, joining fellow Czech Republic native Vladimir Ruzicka. Milan Lucic was voted last year’s winner.

Ed Westfall (1968-69), John McKenzie (1969-70), Fred Stanfield (1970-71), Derek Sanderson (1971-72), Dallas Smith (1972-73), Carol Vadnais & Don Marcotte (1973-74), Terry O'Reilly (1974-75), Gregg Sheppard (1975-76), Gary Doak (1976-77), Stan Jonathan (1977-78), Rick Middleton (1978-79), Ray Bourque (1979-80), Steve Kasper (1980-81), Barry Pederson (1981-82), Pete Peeters (1982-83), Mike O'Connell (1983-84), Keith Crowder (1984-85), Randy Burridge (1985-86), Cam Neely (1986-87), Glen Wesley (1987-88), Randy Burridge (1988-89), John Carter (1989-90), Ken D. Hodge (1990-91), Vladimir Ruzicka (1991-92), Don Sweeney (1992-93), Cam Neely (1993-94), Blaine Lacher (1994-95), Kyle McLaren (1995-96), Ted Donato (1996-97), Jason Allison (1997-98), Byron Dafoe (1998-99), Joe Thornton (1999-2000), Bill Guerin (2000-01), Bill Guerin (2001-02), Mike Knuble (2002-03), Andrew Raycroft (2003-04), Tim Thomas (2005-06), Tim Thomas (2006-07), Milan Lucic, (2007-08).
View More