Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Head Coach Claude Julien Becomes Boston Bruins All-Time Coaching Wins Leader

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
BOSTON, MA – With the Bruins’ 5-4 victory over the Florida Panthers on Monday night, Head Coach Claude Julien passed Art Ross to become Boston’s all-time coaching wins leader in the club's 92-year history with 388 victories. Julien is now 388-215-85 in 688 games behind the Boston bench.

The Boston Bruins organization will honor Julien’s achievement with a pregame ceremony prior to the team’s 7:00 PM game against the Florida Panthers on March 24 at TD Garden.
Julien is in his ninth season with the Bruins, having been named the 27th head coach in team history on June 21, 2007. He is the longest tenured current head coach in the NHL. The Bruins have advanced to the playoffs in seven of his eight years behind the Boston bench and he owns the club career coaching record for playoff games won at 57. He led the Bruins to a Stanley Cup Championship in 2011, a return to the Stanley Cup Final in 2013 and a Presidents' Trophy in 2014. Julien also won the Jack Adams Trophy as the league’s top coach following the 2008-09 season.
Julien has coached at the international level, winning a Gold medal as an assistant coach of Team Canada in the 2014 Olympic Games in Sochi and most recently was named an assistant coach for Team Canada in the World Cup of Hockey 2016 in Toronto. He won a Bronze medal as head coach of Team Canada at the 2000 World Junior Championship and a Silver medal as an assistant coach for Team Canada in the 2006 World Junior Championships. He also served as an assistant coach for Team Canada in the 2006 World Championships.
Before his successful coaching career began, Julien had a 12 year professional playing career as a defenseman at the IHL, CHL, AHL and NHL levels. He played 14 career NHL games with one assist and 25 penalty minutes over two seasons with the Quebec Nordiques in 1984-85 and 1985-86.

1. Claude Julien, 388
2. Art Ross, 387
3. Milt Schmidt, 245
4. Don Cherry, 231
5. Gerry Cheevers, 204

View More