Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Danton Heinen Earns First-Team All-NCHC Honors

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado – One day after recognizing the outstanding freshmen in the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC), the NCHC has revealed its All-Conference Teams for 2015-16, as selected by NCHC coaches and student-athletes. Denver, North Dakota and St. Cloud State each placed two players on the NCHC All-Conference First Team while UND and SCSU also placed a pair on the Second Team. Minnesota Duluth and Omaha each had one representative on the All-Conference Second Team.

Making up the First-Team All-NCHC is Denver sophomore Danton Heinen, UND freshman Brock Boeser and UND senior Drake Caggiula at forward, SCSU senior Ethan Prow and DU junior Will Butcher on the blue line and SCSU junior Charlie Lindgren in goal. The All-NCHC Second Team includes SCSU’s Joey Benik and Kalle Kossila, along with Omaha junior Jake Guentzel at forward, UND junior Troy Stecher and Minnesota Duluth senior Andy Welinski on defense and UND sophomore Cam Johnson as the goaltender. Heinen, Caggiula and Welinski were all named to this year’s NCHC Preseason All-Conference Team, as well.

Heinen, who was both an NCHC All-Rookie Team and Second-Team All-Conference selection last season, was the top vote-getter at forward with 37 points and 12 of a possible 14 first-place votes while linemates Boeser (27 points) and Caggiula (26 points) each received seven first-place votes. Boeser was named to the NCHC All-Rookie Team Tuesday while Caggiula was also a Second-Team All-NCHC pick last season like Heinen. Prow was the top vote-getter overall with 40 points, including 13 of 14 first-place votes, while Butcher totaled 28 points (eight first-place votes). Lindgren, an NCHC Honorable Mention pick last season and an NCHC All-Rookie Team honoree in 2014, received 31 points with nine first-place votes.

Voting was conducted by the head coaches and one student-athlete at each institution. Coaches and student-athletes voted for six forwards, four defensemen and two goaltenders, awarding first-place votes for six players (three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender) and second-place votes for the other six selections. Three points were awarded for a first-place vote while one point was awarded for a second-place vote. Coaches and players were not allowed to vote for themselves or their players/teammates.

The NCHC will announce its individual award finalists on Thursday. Individual award winners will be announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration in Minneapolis, Minn. the following Thursday, March 17.
View More