Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Chara, Thomas Named to All-Star Game; Seguin to Participate in SuperSkills

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
BOSTON, MA - The National Hockey League announced today that Bruins Zdeno Chara and Tim Thomas have been named to the 2011 NHL All-Star Game and rookie Tyler Seguin has been selected as one of 12 NHL rookies to participate in the Honda SuperSkills competition. The All-Star festivities will take place Saturday, January 29 and Sunday, January 30 in Raleigh, NC and the full roster can be found at the end of this release.

Thomas, All-Star Game 2009
Thomas currently leads all NHL goaltenders in goals against average (1.84) and save percentage (.944) and is tied for the league lead in shutouts (5). He has compiled an 18-4-6 record on the season. This is Thomas’ third career All-Star nomination, and he has been the winning goaltender in the previous two All-Star Games (2009, 2008).

Chara leads all Bruins in average time on ice per game (26:38, third in NHL), goals (6) and points (18). The former Norris Trophy winner will make his fifth NHL All-Star Game appearance and has won the hardest shot competition three straight years. Chara set the hardest shot competition record with a 105.4 MPH blast during the 2009 NHL All-Star Game’s SuperSkills competition.

The 18-year-old Seguin has registered six goals and eight assists in 39 games. The second overall pick in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft, Seguin ranks in the top 15 in both points and goals among all NHL rookies.

As previously announced, the NHL, working in conjunction with the National Hockey League Players’ Association, replaced the traditional conference vs. conference format for the All-Star teams with a player draft that will determine the team rosters for the 2011 NHL All-Star Game as well as the Honda NHL SuperSkills.  The Jan. 28 NHL All-Star Player Fantasy Draft will be televised live on VERSUS in the U.S. at 8 p.m. ET from the Raleigh Convention Center.  

A coin toss will decide first pick with the team captains, joined by their two alternate captains, alternately drafting the 36 remaining All-Stars through 18 rounds. Each team will consist of three goalies, six defensemen and 12 forwards total.

The 12 Rookies participating in the Honda NHL SuperSkills® will be divided by the NHL into two groups of six. At the completion of the 15th round of the NHL All-Star Player Fantasy Draft enabled by Cisco, one NHL Rookie will be selected to choose which All-Star team his group will join for the skills competition.

The 2011 NHL All-Star Game will mark the first time Carolina has hosted NHL All-Star activities. The on-ice activities will take place Saturday, January 29 and Sunday, January 30 and will include Honda NHL SuperSkills® and the 58th NHL All-Star Game at the RBC Center. Live television coverage of both nights will be provided by VERSUS in the U.S. and CBC and RDS in Canada. The Honda SuperSkills® will begin at 7 p.m. ET on Saturday, and the 2011 NHL All-Star Game will start at 4 p.m. ET on Sunday.

Six players have already been voted in by fans: Forwards Sidney Crosby, Jonathan Toews and
Evgeni Malkin; defensemen Kris Letang and Duncan Keith; and goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury

The remaining 36 were selected by the NHL Hockey Operations Department:

Corey Perry - Anaheim Ducks, Jarome Iginla - Calgary Flames, Eric Staal - Carolina Hurricanes, Patrick Kane - Chicago Blackhawks, Patrick Sharp - Chicago Blackhawks, Matt Duchene - Colorado Avalanche, Rick Nash - Columbus Blue Jackets, Loui Eriksson - Dallas Stars, Brad Richards - Dallas Stars, Ales Hemsky - Edmonton Oilers, Anze Kopitar - Los Angeles Kings, Patrik Elias - New Jersey Devils, Claude Giroux - Philadelphia Flyers, David Backes - St. Louis Blues, Steven Stamkos - Tampa Bay Lightning, Martin St. Louis - Tampa Bay Lightning, Phil Kessel - Toronto Maple Leafs, Ryan Kesler - Vancouver Canucks, Henrik Sedin - Vancouver Canucks, Daniel Sedin - Vancouver Canucks, Alex Ovechkin - Washington Capitals

Dustin Byfuglien - Atlanta Thrashers, Tobias Enstrom - Atlanta Thrashers, Zdeno Chara - Boston Bruins, Nicklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings, Brent Burns - Minnesota Wild, Shea Weber - Nashville Predators, Marc Staal - New York Rangers, Erik Karlsson - Ottawa Senators, Dan Boyle - San Jose Sharks, Mike Green - Washington Capitals

Jonas Hiller - Anaheim Ducks, Tim Thomas - Boston Bruins, Cam Ward - Carolina Hurricanes, Carey Price - Montreal Canadiens , Henrik Lundqvist - New York Rangers

Cam Fowler - Anaheim Ducks, Tyler Seguin - Boston Bruins, Tyler Ennis - Buffalo Sabres, Jeff Skinner - Carolina Hurricanes, Kevin Shattenkirk - Colorado Avalanche, Jordan Eberle - Edmonton Oilers, Taylor Hall - Edmonton Oilers, Evgeny Dadonov - Florida Panthers, Michael Grabner - New York Islanders, Derek Stepan - New York Rangers, Oliver Ekman-Larsson - Phoenix Coyotes, Logan Couture - San Jose Sharks
View More