Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

B's Announce Scholastic Award Recipients

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
BOSTON, MA - The Boston Bruins announced today Alex Carpenter of the Governor's Academy and Matt Harlow of Noble and Greenough school are the recipients of the 2011 John Carlton Award. Named after the late Bruins scout and administrator who passed away in 1982, the John Carlton Award is given annually by the Boston Bruins to an outstanding male and female student-athlete in an Eastern Massachusetts High School or Junior hockey. The award is given to the high school seniors who combine exceptional hockey skills with academic excellence.

Boston Bruins Assistant General Manager Don Sweeney will present the award to Alex and Matt during the second intermission of the Bruins/Devils game on Tuesday, March 22 at the TD Garden (7:00 p.m. start; 100 Legends Way, Boston, MA 02114).  

This year’s recipients have excelled both in the classroom and on the ice. Alex Carpenter of North Reading, MA, is the Massachusetts all time leading scorer with 410 points over four years. She helped lead the girl’s hockey team to four New England Championships and has been the team MVP throughout her entire high school career. She received the Globe All Scholastic Player of the Year award in 2010 and will be the 2011 recipient as well. Carpenter is an honor roll student and plans to attend Boston College in the fall.

As the captain of his high school men's hockey team, Matt Harlow of Bridgewater, MA, has scored 26 goals and had 21 assists this season for Noble and Greenough. At the conclusion of the 2011 season, Harlow was named all ISL for the second consecutive year. He is an honor roll student and plans to attend Brown University in the fall.

The Boston Bruins organization is also proud to announce the 2011 recipients of the Boston Bruins Ice Hockey Sportsmanship Medal. These student-athletes were selected for best exemplifying a commitment to the ideals of sportsmanship throughout the season. These young men and women demonstrated a tremendous commitment to teamwork and exhibited respect both on and off the ice. For nine years, the MIAA and the Boston Bruins have partnered to honor one worthy student-athlete from every boys and girls ice hockey league statewide. A complete list the 2011 recipients can be found below.

Immediately following the presentation of the Carlton Awards, Boston Bruins Hall of Famer and hockey legend John Bucyk will present each of these deserving athletes with their awards.



Atlantic Coast League Stephen Whyte – Plymouth, MA
Bay State League Michael Nadeau – Walpole MA
Big Three Brian Sheeha – Brockton MA
Boston City League Patrick Sullivan – East Boston, MA
Cape Ann League Eric Sokolski – North Reading, MA
Catholic Central League - Division 1 Steven Caruso – Peabody, MA
Catholic Central League - Division 2 T.J. Curran – Chelmsford, MA
Commonwealth Athletic Conference Nick Krasco – Melrose, MA
Coughlin Conference Evan Pappas – Bolton, MA
Eastern Athletic Conference Sean Daly –Mansfield, MA
Fay Division Ethan Sprague – Orange, MA
Greater Boston League Dave Cooper – Somerville, MA
Hockomock League Brian Ziegler – Stoughton, MA
Middlesex League Thomas Crowley – Reading, MA
MVC/DCL Division 1 Terry Murphy – Waltham, MA
MVC/DCL Division 2 Sean Ashe – Sudbury, MA
MVC/DCL Division 3 Nate Howe – Tyngsborough, MA
NEC South Hunter Whitmore – Marblehead, MA
Patriot League Dave Lyons – Scituate, MA
Roy Conference Hayden Voss – Marlborough, MA
South Coast Conference Matthew Lagasse – Acushnet, MA
Tri Valley League P.J. Copponi – Dover, MA
Wright Division Derek Garrow – Chicopee MA

Bay State League Meaghan Dwan – Dedham, MA
Cape Ann League/Northeastern Conference Shannon McDonald – Danvers, MA
Catholic Central League Meghan Noviello – Raynham, MA
Catholic Conference Sara Dalba – Malden, MA
Independent Schools Catherine Chittick – Hingham, MA
Middlesex League Simmie Steinberg – Belmont, MA
MVC/DCL Division 2 Victoria DiBlasi – Waltham, MA
MVD/DCL Division 1 Kim McLaughlin – Billerica, MA
SEMGHL North Meara Stack – Medfield, MA
SEMGHL South Kayla Errasti – Duxbury, MA
View More