Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Bruins to Honor Record-Holding 1977-78 Team

Team will be honored during game vs. Calgary on February 13

by Boston Bruins @NHLBruins /

BOSTON - The Boston Bruins announced today, February 8, that the organization will honor the 40th anniversary of the 1977-78 Bruins team which had a NHL record-holding 11 20-goal scorers on February 13 prior to the Bruins game against the Calgary Flames. The players will be joined by coach Don Cherry for a ceremonial puck drop prior to the game, and there will be other elements throughout the game which will honor the team.

The 1977-78 Boston Bruins are the only team in NHL history to feature 11 different 20-goal scorers in the same season. Peter McNab (41), Terry O'Reilly (29), Bobby Schmautz (27), Stan Jonathan (27), Jean Ratelle (25), Rick Middleton (25), Wayne Cashman (24), Gregg Sheppard (23), Brad Park (22), Don Marcotte (20) and Bob Miller (20) each reached or surpassed the 20-goal mark to help lead the team to an appearance in the Stanley Cup Final. The previous record for 20-goal scorers in a season was 10, a feat that was accomplished by three teams: 1970-71 Boston Bruins, 1974-75 Montreal Canadiens, 1980-81 St. Louis Blues.

View More