Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Bruins to Honor 1970 Stanley Cup Team

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
BOSTON, MA - The Boston Bruins will honor the 40th anniversary of their 1970 Stanley Cup championship team with an on-ice presentation followed by a ceremonial puck drop on Thursday, March 18 prior to the Bruins game vs. the Pittsburgh Penguins.

The Bruins will welcome back members of the 1969-70 team, including players Bobby Orr, John Bucyk, Gary Doak, Ken Hodge, Eddie Johnston, Don Marcotte, John McKenzie, Derek Sanderson, Dallas Smith, Rick Smith, Fred Stanfield and Eddie Westfall in addition to coach Harry Sinden and trainer Dan Canney.

The 1970 post-season saw the Bruins return to the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time since 1958. They lost their only two games of that playoff year in a six-game quarter-final series vs. the NY Rangers which was followed by a four-game semi-final sweep of the Chicago Blackhawks, notable for being only the second time in league history that brothers (Phil Esposito for Boston and Tony for Chicago) faced each other in a playoff series.

The Bruins set a then-NHL record with ten straight post-season victories as they swept the St. Louis Blues in the Stanley Cup Finals, clinched by a Bobby Orr overtime goal in game four of that series immortalized in perhaps the most famous hockey photograph of all time. Orr would be named the Conn Smythe Trophy winner as the playoff MVP as he set then-league records for points by a defenseman with 20 points in 14 straight post-season games and teammate Phil Esposito set then-league marks for goals (13) and points (27) in one post-season.

View More