Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Bruins Announce 2015-16 Season Awards

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
BOSTON, MA – The Bruins announced their regular season award winners before the Bruins/Senators game on Saturday, April 9. Matt Beleskey was named the recipient of the Eddie Shore Award (exceptional hustle and determination, chosen by the “Gallery Gods”); Loui Eriksson was named the winner of the Elizabeth Dufresne Trophy (outstanding performance during home games, determined by the Boston Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association); Jimmy Hayes was selected for the John P. Bucyk Award (greatest off-ice charitable contributions, chosen by John Bucyk); and Patrice Bergeron (First Star), Tuukka Rask (Second Star) and David Krejci (Third Star) were named the Bruins Three Stars (top performers at home games over the course of the season, chosen by 98.5 The Sports Hub).

Eddie Shore Award:

Bruins winger Matt Beleskey has been selected by the “Gallery Gods” as the Eddie Shore Award winner for demonstrating exceptional hustle and determination throughout the 2015-16 season. Beleskey entered Saturday leading the Bruins in hits with 249, fifth on the team in penalty minutes with 65 and fifth on the team in goals (15).

Elizabeth Dufresne Trophy:

Bruins winger Loui Eriksson has been selected as the Elizabeth Dufresne Trophy recipient for his outstanding performance during Bruins home games this season. He has 19 goals and17 assists for 36 points during home games at TD Garden this season.

John P. Bucyk Award

Jimmy Hayes has been an active participant in the Boston Bruins off-ice charitable events throughout the course of the 2015-16 campaign. Hayes used many of his rare off days to make a difference in the Greater Boston area, which included hosting a street hockey clinic for the Charlestown Boys and Girls Club, visiting Boston Children’s Hospital, donating tickets for local military members and their families to the Military Appreciation Night game on November 12, 2015 and participating in the Bruins Annual “Cuts for a Cause” and Bruins Holiday Toy Shopping and Delivery events. A notable community endeavor Hayes participated in this year was dressing up as a “Minion” from the popular movie “Minions” for Halloween and visiting patients at Boston Children’s Hospital. Along with the trophy Hayes receives $1,000 to donate to the charity of his choice, the donation comes from the Boston Bruins Alumni Foundation. Hayes chose the Corey C. Griffin Foundation for his donation.

Bruins Three Stars:

First Star Patrice Bergeron tallied 14 goals and 20 assists (second on team) for 34 points (second on team) at home this season. The B’s Second Star, Tuukka Rask, compiled a record of 14-14-5 in 33 home games with a GAA of 2.73 and save percentage of .907. Third Star David Krejci accrued 8 goals and 24 assists (tied for first on team) for 32 points during home games.

Boston Bruins Foundation and Professional Hockey Writers Association Donation:

The Boston Bruins Foundation and the Boston Chapter of the PHWA partnered on a program to raise money for local charities by asking the working media who cover Bruins home games to make a small donation when dining in the Will McDonough Press Room prior to games. Through the program, those members of the media who dined in the Press Room were asked to make an $8.00 donation, 100 percent of which went to the Boston Bruins Foundation. This year, the Boston Bruins Foundation and the PHWA will be donating $20,000 to the Denna Laing Fund.

View More