Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Bruins Announce 2009 Carlton Award

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
2009 Winners of the Boston Bruins Ice Hockey Sportsmanship Award

Delaware North Companies and Boston Bruins Principal Charlie Jacobs announced today that Jillian Dempsey of the Rivers School and Wayne Simpson of the Lawrence Academy are the recipients of the 2009 John Carlton Award.  Named after the late Bruins scout and administrator who passed away in 1982, the John Carlton Award is given annually by the Boston Bruins to an outstanding male and female student-athlete in an Eastern Massachusetts High School or Junior hockey.  The award is given to the high school seniors who combine exceptional hockey skills with academic excellence.

2009 Carlton Award Winners
This year’s recipients have excelled both in the classroom and on the ice. Jillian Dempsey of Winthrop, MA led the Rivers School girls’ hockey team in scoring in the 2008-2009 season with 43 goals and 20 assists in 25 games, capping off a prolific career in which she totaled 98 goals and 80 assists. In addition, she was a four-time independent school league All-Star as well as the ISL League MVP this season. She was a gold medalist at the 2009 Under-18 World Championships for Team USA and was a four-time national gold medalist for the Assabet Valley Girls Ice Hockey team. Dempsey is a high honors student and plans to attend Harvard University in the fall

As a three-time independent school league All-Star, Wayne Simpson of Boxborough, MA led his team to the Independent School League Keller Division Championship after scoring 34 goals and 31 assists in 30 games this season. He was two-time New England Prep School All Star and served as captain of Jr. Boston Triple team for the past two seasons.  Simpson is an honor roll student and plans to attend Union College in the fall.

Boston Bruins Vice President Cam Neely will present the award to Jillian and Wayne during the second intermission of Tuesday’s Bruins game at the TD Banknorth Garden. 

TheBoston Bruins organization is also proud to announce the 2009 winners of the Boston Bruins Ice Hockey Sportsmanship Award. These student-athletes were selected for best exemplifying a commitment to the ideals of sportsmanship throughout the season. These young men and women demonstrated a tremendous commitment to teamwork and exhibited respect both on and off the ice.  For seven years, the MIAA and the Boston Bruins have partnered to honor one worth student- athlete from every boys and girls ice hockey league statewide. A complete list the 2009 recipients can be found below.

Immediately following the presentation of the Carton Awards, Boston Bruins Hall of Famer and hockey legend John Bucyk, will present each of these deserving athletes with their awards.
View More