Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

O'Reilly named finalist for Selke Trophy

Ryan O'Reilly has chance to win League's best defensive forward award for second straight season

by Chris Pinkert / St. Louis Blues

Ryan O'Reilly has been selected as a finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, given annually to the forward who "best excels in the defensive component of the game."

O'Reilly joins Boston's Patrice Bergeron and Philadelphia's Sean Couturier as finalists for 2020.

O'Reilly won the Selke Trophy last season.

This year's winner will be determined by votes from members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and will be revealed during the Conference Finals. The NHL Awards, which were originally scheduled for June 18 in Las Vegas, were postponed due to the paused season.

O'Reilly led the Blues with 61 points (12 goals, 49 assists) in 71 games this season. He led the NHL in both face-off wins (880) and face-offs taken (1,556) and ranks 10th among qualifying players with a 56.6 face-off winning percentage.

Video: Ryan O'Reilly awarded Frank J. Selke Trophy

Besides O'Reilly, the only other member of the Blues to win the Selke Trophy is Rick Meagher (1989-90).

Last week, O'Reilly was also named a finalist for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, which is given to the player "adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability."

View More